

DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, JUNE 28, 2010, 5:45PM-10:00PM AUSTIN CITY HALL, BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM 1101 301 W. SECOND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Current Commission Members

Bart Whatley (BW) – Chair	Eleanor McKinney (EM)
Jeannie Wiginton (JW) – Vice Chair	Juan E. Cotera (JC)
James Shieh (JS) – Secretary	David Knoll (DK)
Richard Weiss (RW)	
	Jorge E. Rousselin (COA - PDRD)
	Staff Liaison

AGENDA

AGENDA				
				Approx. time
CALL TO ORDER 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order		5:45 PM		
		5:45 PM		
			oe allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns items not posted on the agenda.	
2.	APPR	OV	AL OF MINUTES (Discussion and Possible Action)	6:00 PM
		a.	Discussion and action on the May 24, 2010 Design Commission	
			regular meeting minutes;	
		b.	Discussion and action on the June 4, 2010 Design Commission	
			Comprehensive Plan Committee meeting minutes.	
3. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)		6:05 PM		
		a.	Courtesy briefing and discussion and action on the Downtown Austin	
			Plan Development Standards. (Jana McCann, McCann Adams	
			Studio);	
		b.	Discussion and action on the 909 Congress rezoning request under	
			case No. C14-2010-0090 requesting to rezone the subject property	
			from CBD-H to CBD-H-CURE and seeking to develop retail/offices;	
			(Tucker Lynch, LBL Partners);	
		c.	Discussion and action on the African American Cultural and Heritage	
			Facility seeking to do stabilization, partial demolition, removal of	
			asbestos and lead paint and rehabilitation of the historic Dedrick	
			Hamilton House, and construction of a new building on the site	

		located at 908 and 912 E. 11th Street; (Alison Von Stein, PW/PM);	
	d.	Discussion and action on ULI/Hines Competition Proclamation.	
		(Commissioner Knoll);	
	e.	Discussion and action on nominations from the Nomination	
		Committee for Design Commission Officers (Commissioner Weiss);	
	f.	Discussion and action on open nominations and selection of a Design	
		Commission representative to be a member of the East Riverside	
		Corridor Working Group (Chair Whatley);	
	g.	Discussion and action on the recommendations of the	
		Bylaws/Policies & Procedures Committee regarding the termination	
		of Design Commission Committees (Commissioner Wiginton);	
	h.	Discussion and action on authorizing the Bylaws/Policies &	
		Procedures Committee to initiate amendments to the Design	
		Commission Project Submittal process and Project Consideration	
		Sheet (Chair Whatley).	
4.	OLD BUSI	NESS (Discussion and Possible Action)	7:45 PM
	a.	Briefing on Waller Creek Tunnel Project (Carolyn Perez, COA-PW);	
	b.	Discussion and action on a draft letter and recommendations for the	
		Comprehensive Plan Vision Statement. (Commissioner Knoll);	
	c.	Discussion and action on draft letter and recommendations for the	
		Downtown Austin Plan Development Standards. (Commissioner	
		Cotera).	
5.	COMMIT	TEE AND TASK FORCE REPORTS	8:30 PM
	a.	Standing Committees Reports;	
	b.		
	c.	Outreach and Education Task Force Reports;	
	d.	Policy Task Force Reports;	
	e.	Project Task Force Reports;	
	f.	Liaison Reports.	
6.	STAFF B	RIEFINGS	8:45 PM
	a.	Project updates – Downtown Austin Plan Update. (Jorge E.	
		Rousselin, COA-PDRD).	
7.	FUTURE	AGENDA ITEMS	8:50 PM
8.	ANNOUN	ICEMENTS	8:55 PM
	a.	Chair Announcements;	
	b.	Items from Commission Members;	
	c.	Items from City Staff.	
		ENT	9:00 PM

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 3 days before the meeting date. Please contact Annie Pennie in the Planning and Development Review Department, at annie.pennie@ci.austin.tx.us or (512) 974-1403, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Design Commission Committees, Policy Task Forces, Project Task Forces, and Liaisons

Standing Committees

- 1. Annual Report/Work Plan Committee: D.C. Chair, D.C. Chair-elect
- 2. Bylaws/Policies & Procedures Committee: Wiginton, McKinney, Cotera
- 3. Executive Committee: Whatley (Chair), Wiginton, Shieh, Weiss
- 4. Urban Design Guidelines Committee: Cotera (Chair), Shieh, Weiss
- 5. Urban Open Space Committee: McKinney (Chair), Whatley, Knoll
- 6. Non-urban Project Review Committee: Shieh (Chair), Cotera, Whatley
- 7. Comprehensive Plan Committee: Knoll(Chair), Weiss, Whatley
- 8. Design Commission Website: Wiginton (Chair), Cotera, Knoll

Special Committee

9. Nominating Committee: Weiss (Chair), Cotera, McKinney

Outreach and Education Task Force

10. New Council Member Task Force: Whatley (Chair), Wiginton, Designee

Policy Task Forces

- 11. Commercial Design Standards TF: Whatley (Chair), Weiss, McKinney
- 12. Density Bonus TF: McKinney (Chair), Shieh, Wiginton
- 13. Great Streets Program TF: McKinney (Chair), Shieh
- 14. Infrastructure TF: Weiss (Chair), Whatley
- 15. Parking TF: Cotera (Chair), Weiss
- 16. Signage/Wayfinding TF: Weiss (Chair), Cotera
- 17. Form-Based Codes: Weiss (chair), Whatley, Shieh

Project Task Forces: (See Project Review rotating membership document)

Design Commission Liaisons

- Afford. Housing Liaison: Wiginton
- Downtown Comm. Liaison: Weiss
- Downtown Plan Liaison: Weiss
- Pfluger Bridge Extension Liaison: Knoll
- South Congress Proj. Liaison: Wiginton
- TOD Liaison: Shieh
- Waterfront Overlay Liaison: McKinney