

Austin Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission Special Meeting

<u>MINUTES</u> Wednesday – July 14, 2010

The Austin Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission convened in a Special Meeting Wednesday, July 14, 2010, 301 W. 2nd Street, Austin, Texas, City Hall, Room 1101.

1. Call to order – July 14, 2010 – 6:00 p.m.

This special meeting was an informational session, not a regular commission meeting. A quorum was not required and commission member attendance was optional.

<u>Commission members in attendance:</u> Chip Rosenthal, Chair Kedron Touvell Randal Kolb Wendell Ramsey Lemuel Williams

<u>Staff in attendance:</u> Rondella Hawkins Paul Lewis Terry Dyke

2. Adoption of agenda.

The agenda was adopted by consent of the Commissioners present.

3. Roundtable discussion on the future of public access television and community media. (wp1)

A series of panels with invited speakers/experts will cover the following topics:

a. <u>Mission and Core Services</u> - a discussion on the role public access tv and services can play in the community, focusing on fundamental policy concerning access, and with an eye to prioritizing services to help ensure the essential functions are funded.

The moderator for this panel was Larry Schooler with the City of Austin's Public Information Office. The panelists were: Joe Van Eaton, Attorney; Isidoro Lopez; Paul Smolen; Laura Stein and Woody Roberts

b. <u>Community</u> - a discussion on how public access television can best connect with and serve the community, as well as a consideration of the various constituencies that form the public access community.

The moderator for this panel was David Kobierowski, public access producer and community activist. The panelists were: Dale Roe; Mariann Wizard; Dvorah Ben-Moshe; Sue Cole and Phil Richardson.

c. <u>Innovation</u> - this panel will momentarily put aside conventional public access television services; instead, it will consider alternate media and new technologies, and investigate their importance to the local community. The goal here is to incubate new ideas, and help ensure that public access and community media stay relevant in the face of media and technological changes.

The moderator for this panel was Jon Lebkowksy, Authority on special media, web community and technoculture.

The panelists were: Gary Dinges; Korey Coleman; Ronny Mack; Chris Holland and Rich Vazquez

d. <u>Funding</u> - a discussion of possible funding models and non-profit development methods for public access television, with special consideration given to the changes that arise out of state cable tv franchising deregulation.

The moderator for this panel was Chip Rosenthal, Chair, Austin Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission.

The panelists were: Gabriel Garcia; Tony Shawcross; Jennifer Gilomen; Shane Guiter and Allison Supanic

The discussion will end at 9:00 p.m.

Viewers may submit questions for panelists using any of several available interactive capabilities: call or text 512-539-0070; chat live at cityofaustin.org/webcast.htm; or email <u>publicaccess@ci.austin.tx.us</u>

4. Citizen Communication.

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a threeminute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

<u>Nick Papatonis</u> stated the city needs to run the public access studios instead of hiring a manager. He also stated to stop banning people from the public access studio.

Don Bennett is not pleased with current management contractors.

<u>Sueann Campbell</u> feels the city can budget \$700,000 for operating the public access studios. She also stated that the City of Austin's Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs has not done a good job of managing the public access contract.

Gloria Morales fells she has been discriminated against by the current public access managers.

5. Discussion of agenda items for ACT&TC future meetings.

There was no discussion on future meeting items

6. Adjournment

This special meeting was adjourned at approximately 9:30 pm