

DOWNTOWN COMMISSION MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 19, 2011

The Downtown Commission convened in a regular meeting on Wednesday, January 19, 2011, at 301 W. 2nd St. in Austin, Texas.

Chair Mandy Dealey called the Commission Meeting to order at 5:48 p.m.

Downtown Commission Members in Attendance:

Bryan Cady, Susan Daniels, Mandy Dealey, Linda Guerrero, Stan Haas, Robert Knight, Dustin Lanier, Dan Leary, Michael McGill, Paul Oveisi, Chris Schorre, Joel Sher, Richard Weiss, Bruce Willenzik

City Staff in Attendance:

Michael Knox, EGRSO; Jorge Rousselin, Planning and Development Review Department

1. CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

2. DOWNTOWN AUSTIN PLAN — COMBINED MEETING WITH DESIGN COMMISSION

Chair Dealey and Chair Bart Whatley (Design Commission) convened a combined meeting of the two commissions to receive a briefing.

Jana McCann and Jim Adams of McCann Adams Studio briefed the Commissions on Downtown Austin Plan – Draft for Community Review.

3. NEW TRAVIS COUNTY CIVIL COURTHOUSE

Judges John Dietz, Gisela Triana-Doyal and Eric Shepperd briefed the Commissions on the planned Travis County Civil Courthouse on the block just south of Republic Square.

After this briefing the combined meeting was adjourned, and the Downtown Commission took a brief recess.

After the recess Commission Member Haas, who had recused himself for the Downtown Austin Plan briefing, joined the Commission on the dais.

4. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

There were no citizens wishing to speak on items not on the posted agenda.

5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the December 15, 2010 meeting were approved on an 12-0-2 vote on Commission Sher's motion, Commission Member Oveisi's second, with Commission members Weiss and Willenzik abstaining.

6. REPORT FROM URBAN TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION — DOWNTOWN COMMISSION JOINT COMMITTEE ON DOWNTOWN PARKING

Commission Member Schorre made a report on survey results.

7. 416 CONGRESS – REZONING FROM CBD TO CBD-CURE-H (C14-2010-0186)

The commission received a briefing by project representatives Mike McHone and Jeff Krolicki.

A resolution to support: 1) rezoning from CBD to CBD-CURE-H with 13:1 FAR and historic (H) zoning, and 2) a curb modification to allow for 24-hour valet parking in front of the hotel was approved on Commission Member Haas' motion, Commission Member Cady's second, on an 11-0-1 vote. Those voting in favor were commission members Cady, Guerrero, Haas, Knight, Lanier, Leary, McGill, Oveisi, Schorre, Sher and Weiss. Commission chair Dealey abstained, and members Daniels and Willenzik were off the dais.

8. CHANGES TO THE BOARD AND COMMISSION BYLAWS

Staff Liaison Michael Knox briefed the commission on required changes to the commission's bylaws, and presented a proposed meeting calendar for 2011.

A motion to adopt the revised bylaws was approved on a motion by Commission Member Weiss, seconded by Commission Member Leary, on an 11-0 vote. Those voting in favor were commission members Cady, Dealey, Guerrero, Haas, Lanier, Leary, McGill, Oveisi, Schorre, Sher and Weiss. Commission members Daniels, Knight and Willenzik were off the dais.

A motion to adopt the 2011 calendar, cancelling only the March 16 meeting, was approved on a motion by Commission Member Lanier, seconded by Commission Member Sher, on an 11-0 vote. Those voting in favor were commission members Cady, Dealey, Guerrero, Haas, Lanier, Leary, McGill, Oveisi, Schorre, Sher and Weiss. Commission members Daniels, Knight and Willenzik were off the dais.

9. NEW ITEMS FOR INFORMATION FROM COMMISSION MEMBERS There were no items.

10. ITEMS FROM STAFF

Staff liaison Michael Knox distributed to the Commission a memo from the Austin Transportation Department on work underway in the Rainey Street area.

11. POTENTIAL FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- Downtown Austin Plan
- Urban Transportation Commission Downtown Commission Joint Committee on Downtown Parking
- Open Space Ordinance Commission Member Haas
- Status of State Theater Lease Commission Member McGill
- Status of Leases of Downtown Squares Commission Member McGill

12. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Mandy Dealey adjourned the meeting at 9:22 p.m. without objection.