

City of Austin Planning Commission June 14, 2011

Mayor Lee Leffingwell, Mayor Pro Tem Mike Martinez, Austin City Council Members Austin City Hall

## Your Honor and Council Members:

We are writing to you today to let you know that one of our most valuable members has retired from the Commission. Mr. Jay Reddy has served on the Planning Commission since 2004. As a commissioner, he served as subcommittee chair-person and as Commission vice-chair. His contributions to the City are many and notable, including

- work on revising the Land Development Code to implement Vertical Mixed-Use rules,
  Transit-Oriented Development standards, and the University Neighborhood Overlay;
- work on more than a dozen neighborhood plans, including his having chaired the memorable meeting the night the Oak Hill Neighborhood Plan was adopted;
- work on the Capital Improvement Plan that has produced several new sidewalks, bike lanes, parks and playgrounds, public safety facilities and much more.

Jay is an ardent New Urbanist who has supported a compact walkable/bikeable/transit-rich city. He has had contentious differences with neighborhood advocates, property-owners, and developers in making countless hard decisions all for the good of the City. Despite those differences, Jay made many friends and collected many admirers, including his fellow commissioners.

The Austin Planning Commission members thank you for having appointed and reappointed Jay to this board, and we want to let you know of our deep regard for him, and we expect that you feel the same and may want to honor him in some manner. Any of us would be happy to discuss this with you further. Thanks!

Sincerely,

Dave Sullivan Saundra Kirk Danette Chimenti Alfonso Hernandez Mandy Dealey Dave Anderson Richard Hatfield Tina Bui

UZ

Former Commissioners and period of service, e-mail concurrence

Tracy Atkins 2006 - 2008

Cid Galindo 2003 – 2007

Kathie Tovo 2009 - 2011

Paula Hui 2008 – 2009

Matt Moore

Chris Ewen 2007 - 2009

Chris Riley 2001 - 2007