

COUNCIL SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC INCENTIVES REGULAR MEETING MINUTES September 26, 2012

The Council Special Committee on Economic Incentives convened in a regular meeting on September 26, 2012, 301 W. 2nd Street, in Austin, Texas.

Council Member Mike Martinez called the Committee Meeting to order at 2:07 p.m.

Committee Members in Attendance: Council Member Mike Martinez, Council Member Laura Morrison, Council Member Kathie Tovo, Mayor Lee Leffingwell

Staff in Attendance: Brian Gildea and Rosy Jalifi

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

CM Morrison moved to approve the August 27, 2012 meeting minutes. CM Tovo second. Mayor Leffingwell was off the dais, motion passed on a vote of 3-0.

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Susan Moffet

Scott Johnson

Dave Porter, Austin Chamber of Commerce

Jeffrey Santori, Liana Laborers Construction Center

Emily Tim, Worker's Defense Project

Jim O'Quinn, Austin Interfaith

Paul Saldana, Trade Alliance Association

Phil Thoden, Executive Director of the Austin Contractor's Association

Frank Fuentes, Minority Trade Association

6. UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT AUSTIN, ON ECONOMIC INCENTIVES PRESENTATION

1. Michel Oden, Graduate Program in Community & Regional Planning, UT at Austin, on Economic Incentives

7. TRAVIS COUNTY PRESENTATION

1. Leslie Browder, County

8. TEXAS PERSPECTIVES PRESENTATION

1. Jon Hockenyos, Texas Perspectives

9. ADJOURN

Chair Mike Martinez adjourned the meeting at 4:04 p.m. without objection.