

### Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) Wednesday, August 28, 2013 Austin Community College South Campus Multi-Purpose Room 1829 W. Stassney Lane Minutes

### **MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:**

Magdalena Blanco Anna Saenz Cathy Cocco TJ Costello Ryan Rafols Mariano Diaz-Miranda Maria Solis Stefan Haag Harriett Harrow Arthur Lopez Henry Johnson Rachel Farris William Hewitt

# MEMBER(S) WHO ARE ABSENT:

Carmen Llanes Pulido

## CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order at 6:35 pm by Chair Magdalena Blanco. A quorum was present.

- 1. Approved minutes of August 21, 2013 Public Forum meeting Maria Solis moved and Anna Saenz seconded the minutes of the August 21, 2013 be approved with corrections. The motion passed.
- 2. Approved minutes of August 24, 2013 Regular Meeting Member of the Public Present to Speak: Guadalupe Sosa

Maria Solis moved and William Hewitt seconded the minutes of the August 24, 2013 be approved with corrections. The motion passed.

- 3. Introduction to Public Forum by Chair Blanco (5 min)
  - (a) Logistics
  - (b) Public Forum Rules

4. Invited Presentations

Austinites for Geographical Representation presented their proposal for 4 minority opportunity districts. Their presenters were: Peck Young, Jacob Limon, Senator Gonzalo Barrientos, Nelson Linder and Roger Borgelt.

- 5. General Citizen Communication; members of the public present and signed up to speak:
  - a. Dan Sowards
  - b. George Morales
  - c. Guadalupe Sosa
  - d. Jeff Jack
  - e. Mike Rodriguez
  - f. John McNabb
  - g. Delia Garza
  - h. Stacy Suits
  - i. Erik Anciaux
  - j. Ken Craig
  - k. Neil Jeffers
  - l. Eliza May
  - m. Gavino Fernandez
  - n. Debbie Russell
  - o. Max Patterson
  - p. Blake Medley
  - q. Nan Clayton
  - r. Carson Jones
  - s. Fred Cantu
  - t. Ken Jacobs
- 6. Future Agenda Items were discussed

### ADJOURNMENT

William moved to adjourn the meeting.

Ryan Rafols seconded.

Chair Blanco adjourned the meeting at 9:20 pm.