

Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) Wednesday, September 4, 2013 Anderson High School Cafeteria 8403 Mesa Dr., Austin, TX Minutes

Members: Carmen Llanes Pulido William Hewitt Cathy Cocco

Arthur Lopez Maria Solis Harriett Harrow Anna Saenz TJ Costello Henry Johnson

Members Who Were Absent:

Magdalena Blanco, Ryan Rafols, Mariano Dias-Miranda, Stefan Haag, Rachel Farris

CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order at 6:40 pm. by Vice Chair TJ Costello. A quorum was present.

- 1. Approval of the minutes of the August 31, 2013 regular meeting was postponed.
- **2.** Vice Chair Costello introduced the Public Forum and the procedures for Citizen Communications.

3. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION

Members of the public present and signed in to speak were:

Frances McIntyre Thomas Jones Robert Thomas Joyce Statz Mary Ingle Joyce Basciado John Warden Mike Reyna Harold Wettig Caro Dubois Kevin Wier Steve Bickerstaff Damon Howze Parker Blevins Teresa Perez-Wiseley Meredith Morningstar Mary Jo Hernandez Joshua Tang Ed English Joanie Arrott

During the questioning period Peck Young also responded to questions of Frances McIntyre

ADJOURNMENT

Carmen Llanes Pulido moved and Anna Saenz seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The motion passed. Vice Chair Costello adjourned the meeting at 9:15 pm.



Public Forum Procedure

- 1. Purpose: To receive public input on redistricting matters prior to approval of preliminary redistricting plan.
- 2. Logistics: Request that all cell phones and cell phones and electronic devices be silenced, and identify location of restrooms, entrances, and exits. Discourage speakers from repetitious or irrelevant testimony.
 - Chair: move meeting along
 - Vice-Chair: assist chair with time, speaker names, and keeping on schedule
 - Staff: Jawana Gutierrez to assist with handouts and speakers, provide Commissioners with list of speakers
 - Commissioners: limit questions to clarifications only. Specific questions shall be written and handed to Chair. Chair will have the discretion to approve questions and ask them of the speakers.
- 3. Public Forum Rules:
 - All individuals wishing to make comments must sign in prior to the meeting.
 - Each speaker is limited to 3 minutes, unless additional time is granted by the Chair.
 - Those in attendance are asked to refrain from disrupting the meeting by making noise of any kind (clapping, verbal feedback, etc); anyone who disrupts the proceedings will be asked to leave.
 - The Commission is interested in gathering data on citizen's view of neighborhoods, maps, and the redistricting plan.
 - Everyone is asked to abide by these guidelines so that the Public Forum process can proceed smoothly and all who wish to speak have the opportunity to do so.

4. Schedule

Time	Agenda Item
6:30pm-7:00pm	Call to Order
	Roll Call
	Approval of Minutes
	Introduction to Public Forum
7:00pm-7:45pm	Citizen Communication
7:45pm-8:00pm	Commission Break
8:00pm-9:00pm	Citizen Communication
9:00pm-9:15pm	Commission Break
9:15pm-10:15pm	Citizen Communication
10:15pm-10:30pm	Future Agenda Items
	Adjournment