

Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) Saturday September 14, 2013 10:00 am City Hall 301 W. 2nd Street Minutes

Members in Attendance:

Magdalena Blanco Ryan Rafols Cathy Cocco Stefan Haag Carmen Llanes Pulido Arthur Lopez Maria Solis Harriett Harrow

Rachel Farris Anna Saenz TJ Costello

(Commissioner Cocco arrived during Item 1 and Commissioner Rafols arrived during Item 4)

CALL TO ORDER – Chair Blanco called the meeting to order at 10:20 am.

1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION

Mario Cantu Jimmy Flannigan Susan Reed Paul Hermesmeyer Steve Bickerstaff

- 2. Approve d the Minutes of September 11, 2013.
- **3.** Presentation on Texas Open Meeting Act by Legal Counsel was postponed until Saturday, September 21, 2013
- **4.** Deliberation and possible action on determining the process for developing Preliminary Map

Citizen Communication Peck Young Steve Bickerstaff

After a lengthy discussion about options for developing the preliminary map Ryan Rafols moved and Art Lopez seconded that the commission vote between options #4 and #5 as presented to the commission. The motion passed. Option #4 which included starting with the VRA required districts, given consideration to citizen developed maps and the working from the outer edges of the city limits inward was

adopted.

- **5.** Deliberation and possible action on Preliminary Map
- **6.** Deliberation and possible action on keeping all of Williamson County that is within the City limits together in one district
- **7.** Deliberation and possible action on how to handle the areas on the periphery of the City Limits
- **8.** Deliberation and possible action on the Communications/Marketing Plan
- **9.** Deliberation and possible action on the Policy Manual

Ryan Rafols moved and Harriett Harrow seconded that the meeting be adjourned. Chair Blanco adjourned the meeting at 12:35 pm.