

## Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) Wednesday, September 25, 2013 7:00 pm One Texas Center Room 325 505 Barton Springs Road Minutes

## Members in Attendance:

Magdalena Blanco Mariano Diaz-Miranda William Hewitt\* Ryan Rafols Cathy Cocco Carmen Llanes Pulido\*\* Arthur Lopez Maria Solis Stefan Haag Rachel Farris Anna Saenz TJ Costello Henry Johnson

\*Commissioner Hewitt participated electronically

\*\*Commissioner Llanes Pulido arrived at 7:35 pm

Chair Blanco Called the meeting order at 7:00 pm. A quorum was present.

**1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION** The following citizens were present and signup to speak.

Frances McIntyre Dan Page Roger Borgelt Henrietta Cameron-Mann Glenn Ross David Albert Roger Baker Peck Young James Schissler Jimmy Flannigan Ed Scruggs Yvonne Massey Davis

Ryan Rafols moved and Rachel Farris seconded that to continue the Citizen Communications beyond the previously described time limit. The motion passed.

Citizen Communication continued with the following speakers. Rick Perkins Cynthia Valadez Joshua Tang Erik Anciaux Guadalupe Sosa Amanda Lavin John Rosshirt Pablo Ortiz Steve Bickerstaff Debbie Russell Valinda Bolton Eliza May

- 2. Approval of the Minutes of September 14, 2013 was postponed
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of September 21, 2013 was postponed
- 4. Deliberation and possible action on the Policy Manual was postponed
- 5. Subcommittee Reports were postponed
- 6. Work Session with Citygate GIS towards determining preliminary map

Art Lopez moved and Ryan Rafols seconded that the Commission use the AGR maps as a starting point for the mapping process. The motion failed.

Maria Solis moved and Henry Johnson seconded that the Commission proceed to finish the maps they had begun on Saturday September 21<sup>st</sup>. The motion passed.

The Commission proceeded in their deliberation towards determining a preliminary map.

Ryan Rafols moved and Maria Solis seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The motion passed. Chari Blanco adjourned the meeting at 10:05 pm.

