

Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) Saturday, September 28, 2013 10:00 am Town Lake Center Assembly Room 721 Barton Springs Road Minutes

Members in Attendance:

Mariano Diaz-Miranda William Hewitt Ryan Rafols* Cathy Cocco Carmen Llanes Pulido Arthur Lopez Maria Solis Stefan Haag Rachel Farris Anna Saenz TJ Costello Henry Johnson

Members Absent: Magdalena Blanco, Harriett Harrow

Vice Chair TJ Costello called the meeting to order at 10:15 am.

1. The approval of the minutes of September 14, 21 & 25 were tabled.

William Hewitt moved and Cathy Cocco seconded that due to public testimony received at the previous meeting, the Commission go into Executive Session to discuss potential litigation with legal counsel. Motion passed and the Commission moved into Executive Session.

Anna Saenz moved and Carmen Llanes Pulido seconded that Rachel Farris serve as the temporary Vice Chair. Motion passed

Commission Ryan Rafols arrived at 11:10 am.

- 2. Work Session with Citygate GIS towards determining preliminary map
- 3. Citizen Comment The following citizens were present and signed up to speak; Ed English

Peck Young Ed Scruggs Mike Rodriguez Ken Craig Erik Anciaux 4. Deliberation and possible action on Final Preliminary Map

Ryan Rafols moved and Henry Johnson seconded to accept the Official Preliminary Map and that it be forwarded to the website and media ASAP. Motion passed unanimously.

William Hewitt moved and Rachel Farris seconded that the Commission hold Public Forums on the following dates: October 19th, 23rd, 26th and 30th. Motion passed. Henry Johnson moved and Maria Solis seconded that the staff work with Commissioner Rafols to ensure Wifi accessibility at future meetings. Motion passed.

Carmen Llanes Pulido moved and William Hewitt seconded that the meetings scheduled for October 2nd and October 5th be cancelled and the next meeting be Monday October 7th. Motion passed.

William Hewitt moved and Ryan Rafols seconded the meeting be adjourned. Motion passed. Vice Chair Costello adjourned the meeting at 5:20 pm.