

Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) Saturday October 19, 2013 1:00 pm Hampton Branch Library at Oak Hill 5125 Convict Hill Road Minutes

Members in Attendance:

Magdalena Blanco Mariano Diaz-Miranda* William Hewitt Cathy Cocco Carmen Llanes Pulido Arthur Lopez Maria Solis Harriett Harrow Stefan Haag Anna Saenz TJ Costello Henry Johnson

*Commissioner Diaz-Miranda arrived at 1:55 pm.

Members Absent: Rachel Farris and Ryan Rafols

Chair Blanco called the Meeting to Order at 1:10 pm.

- **1.** Introduction to Public Forum by Chair Blanco (5 min)
 - (a) Logistics
 - (b) Public Forum Rules
- 2. William Hewitt moved and Anna Saenz seconded that the Minutes of the October 12, 2013 meeting be approved, as corrected. The motion passed.
- 3. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION Public Forum

The following citizens were present and signed up to speak:

Ken Pfluger

Michael Cargill

Karen Hibpshma

Cynthia Johnson

Kenneth Webb

Kevin Wier

IXCVIII VVICI

Tom Nuckols

Joan Owens

Rick Perkins

Russ Downey

Leslie Pool

Marion Mlotok

Cynthia Wilcox

Erik Summerfield

Ed Scruggs

Ken Jacob

Joan Bartz

Laura Pressley

Claudia Corum

Richard DePalma

Joyce Basciano

Mary Ingle

Sumit Dasgupta

Cory Walton

Mike Rodriguez

Ken Craig

Jim Christianson

Flo Ann Randle

- 4. Subcommittee Reports and possible action All subcommittee reports were tabled.
 - (a) Calendar Commissioner Solis
 - (b) Decisions Made Commissioners Hewitt, Johnson & Rafols
 - (c) Outreach/Marketing Commissioners Cocco, Llanes Pulido & Farris
 - (d) Managing Data Commissioners Harrow, Saenz & Johnson
 - (e) Managing the Maps Commissioner Haag
 - (f) Final Report Compilation Commissioners Costello, Llanes Pulido, Farris, & Lopez Process and lessons learned.
- **5.** Deliberation and possible action on consideration of potential legal matters **There were no legal matters to discuss.**
- **6.** Possible Executive Session to consult with Legal Counsel Texas Government Code Annotated §551.071 **No Executive Session was held.**

Carmen Llanes Pulido moved and Henry Johnson seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The motion passed. Chair Blanco adjourned the meeting at 4:24 pm.