Zero Waste Advisory Commission 2014 Committees and Workgroups Assignments

1. Construction and Demolition Ordinance Committee

Goal:

This program is a part of the Master Plan. The Commission developed a committee to solicit the input of stakeholders regarding the ordinance. The program will be a collaborative effort from Austin Energy's Green Building Program, Austin, Planning and Development Review, and Public Works.

Membership:

David Sullivan (ZWAC) Chair Daniela Ochoa Gonzalez (ZWAC) Fayez Kazi (ZWAC)

Staff:

Jason McCombs (ARR) Gena McKinley (ARR)

2. Universal Recycling Ordinance Phase 2 Committee

Goal:

The Commission will continue to hold meetings with stakeholders as they develop Phase II of recommendations to Council.

Membership:

Cathy Gattuso (ZWAC) Chair Rick Cofer (ZWAC) David Sullivan (ZWAC)

Staff:

Jason McCombs (ARR) Gena McKinley (ARR)

3. Producer Responsibility Workgroup

Goal:

The Commission will collaborate with staff by making recommendations to the Austin Resource Recovery Director regarding collaborations with its regional partners to target non-recyclable, non-compostable materials or hard to handle materials across the region.

Membership:

Maia Corbitt (STAR) Chair Cathy Gattuso (ZWAC) Andrew Dobbs (Texas Campaign for the Environment) Brent Perdue (Ecology Action)

Staff:

Gena McKinley (ARR)

4. Food Waste Prevention & Recovery Workgroup

Goal:

The Commission will collaborate with staff by making recommendations to the Austin Resource Recovery Director regarding collaborations with its regional partners to develop policies for food waste prevention and recovery consistent with the Zero Waste Master Plan.

Membership:

Daniela Ochoa Gonzalez (ZWAC) – Chair Jeff Paine (ZWAC) Cathy Gattuso (ZWAC) Brandi Clark Burton(Food Shift Austin)

Staff:

Woody Raine (ARR)

5. Communications & Community Engagement Workgroup

Goal:

The Commission will collaborate with staff by making recommendations to the Austin Resource Recovery Director regarding communication and community engagement to expand Zero Waste awareness and participation in waste diversion activities.

Membership:

Cathy Gattuso (ZWAC) – Chair Carly Jo Dixon Name (to be provided by Commissioner Gattuso in April) Name (to be provided by Commissioner Gattuso in April)

Staff:

Emlea Chanslor (ARR)

6. Austin Resource Recovery Facilities Workgroup

Membership:

Fayez Kazi (ZWAC) – Chair Rick Cofer (ZWAC) Dave Sullivan (ZWAC)

Staff:

Bob Gedert (ARR)

Special Liaison

Commissioner Cathy Gattuso will serve as ZWAC liaison to the City of Austin Sustainability Office.