

BOARD/COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION

Resource Management Commission Recommendation No. 20140715-010

Response to the Boards & Commissions Transition Task Force Report

Council Resolution No. 20140515-027 directed staff to solicit written feedback from current boards and commissions regarding the Boards and Commissions Transition Task Force report. The following comments from the Resource Management Commission were submitted via Survey Monkey, as directed by the Office of the City Clerk.

- 1. The Resource Management Commission (RMC) strongly recommends creation of a Sustainability Commission, not a joint committee. As with the RMC, Council should appoint members with expertise on energy efficiency, renewable energy and water conservation directly to a Sustainability Commission.
- 2. As a body, a joint Sustainability Committee would have no standing with City Council meaning Council members would have no advisory board or commission to advise them on issues of sustainability.
- 3. Replacing the RMC with a joint committee would not decrease staff time and support because reports and briefings would have to be made to one or more of the 7 commissions and the committee.
- 4. There would be no single body acting as the City's stewards of water and energy conservation, clean air and climate protection.
- 5. At a minimum there is a perceived conflict of interest for a utility commission with advisory responsibility for fiduciary and operational advice that is also supposed to advise on environmental, social and conservation measures that could negatively impact the finances of the utility.
- 6. In summary, the RMC feels there should be a separate Sustainability Commission, not a joint committee, because sustainability is too important an issue and goal of the City not to have a separate commission appointed by City Council.

Date of Approval: July 15, 2014

Record of the vote: Although the Commission did not vote on the item, members present

agreed on the comments and requested they be submitted by the Staff Liaison. Members present were Chair Leo Dielmann, Vice Chair Sean Kelly, and Commissioners Richard Amato, Carol Biedrzycki, Grace Hsieh

and Hari Krishna.

Attest:

Toye Goodson, Staff Liaison