

DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, DECEMBER 15, 2014 6:00 PM AUSTIN CITY HALL, BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM 1101 301 W. SECOND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Current Commission Members

Dean Almy (DA) – Chair
Evan Taniguchi (ET) – Vice Chair
Hope Hasbrouck (HH) – Secretary

_____ Juan E. Cotera (JC)

_____ James Shieh (JS)

_____ Jeannie Wiginton (JW)

_____ Bart Whatley (BW)

_____ Jorge E. Rousselin (COA – PDRD) Staff Liaison

AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted. Approx. time

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL		6:00 PM
1.	CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL	6:00 PM
	The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be	
	allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted	
	on the agenda.	
2.	APPROVAL OF MINUTES (Discussion and Possible Action)	6:15 PM
	a. Discussion and possible action on the November 24, 2014 Design Commission	
	meeting minutes. (<u>Jorge Rousselin</u> , COA-PDRD)	
3.	NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):	6:20 PM
	a. Briefing on the Capital Metro Project Connect Gateway MetroRail Downtown	
	Multimodal Station. (Javier A. Argüello, Capital Metro).	
4.	OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)	6:50 PM
	a. Discussion and possible action on modifications to the 2015 Design Commission	
	meeting schedule. (Jorge Rousselin, COA-PDRD)	
5.	COMMITTEE AND LIAISON REPORTS (Discussion and Possible Action)	7:00 PM
	a. Standing Committees Reports;	
	b. Working Group Reports;	
	c. Liaison Reports;	
	d. Appointment of Committee/Working Group members by Chair.	
6.	STAFF BRIEFINGS: None	7:15 PM
7.	FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS: None	7:15 PM
8.	ANNOUNCEMENTS	7:20 PM
	a. Chair Announcements;	
	b. Items from Commission Members; and	
	c. Items from City Staff.	

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 3 days before the meeting date. Please contact Jorge Rousselin in the Planning and Development Review Department, at <u>jorge.rousselin@austintexas.gov</u> or (512) 974-2975, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Design Commission Committees, Working Groups, and Liaisons

Committees

- 1. Bylaws/Policies & Procedures Committee: Wiginton (Chair), Cotera, Whatley
- 2. Executive Committee: Almy (Chair), Taniguchi, Hasbrouck

Working Groups

- 1. Planning and Urban Design Working Group: Whatley (Chair), Cotera, Shieh
- 2. Architecture and Development Working Group: Almy (Chair), Taniguchi, Cotera
- 3. Landscape and Infrastructure Working Group: Hasbrouck (Chair), Wiginton, Almy
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: Wiginton (Chair), Taniguchi, Hasbrouck

Design Commission Liaisons

- 1. Downtown Comm. Liaison / Downtown Austin Plan: Whatley
- 2. Airport Boulevard Redevelopment Initiative: Whatley

Design Commission Staff Liaison:

Jorge E. Rousselin, Development Services Process Coordinator Urban Desgin, Planning and Development Review Department City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704 Phone: (512) 974-2975 ■ E-mail: jorge.rousselin@austintexas.gov

Resources:

- 1. The Urban Design Guidelines for Austin can be accessed here: <u>Urban Design Guidelines for Austin</u>.
- 2. Design Commission backup may be accessed here: Design Commission Backup.