

DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, JANUARY 26, 2015 6:00 PM AUSTIN CITY HALL, BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM 1101 301 W. SECOND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Current Commission Members

Dean Almy (DA) – Chair
Evan Taniguchi (ET) – Vice Chair
Hope Hasbrouck (HH) – Secretary

_____ Juan E. Cotera (JC)

_____ James Shieh (JS)

_____ Jeannie Wiginton (JW)

_____ Bart Whatley (BW)

_____ Jorge E. Rousselin (COA – PDRD) Staff Liaison

AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted. Approx. time

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL				
1.	CIT	CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL		
	Th	e first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be		
	allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted			
	on the agenda.			
2.	AF	PROVAL OF MINUTES (Discussion and Possible Action)	6:15 PM	
	a.	Discussion and possible action on the December 15, 2014 Design Commission		
		meeting minutes. (<u>Jorge Rousselin</u> , COA-PDRD)		
3.	NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):		6:20 PM	
	a.	Briefing and update on the City of Austin Complete Streets Policy, and discussion on		
		how creation of Urban Design Guidelines and Complete streets efforts can be		
		synched up to support mutual goals. (Kit Johnson, COA-PW and Katherine Gregor,		
		COA-ATD);		
	b.	Discussion and possible action on Design Commission's role in CodeNEXT; and		
	с.	Discussion and possible action on appointing a Design Commission representative		
		to the CodeNEXT working groups.		
4.	OL	D BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)	6:50 PM	
	a.	Discussion and possible action on recommended changes to the Design Commission		
		Project Review Sheet.		
5.	5. COMMITTEE AND LIAISON REPORTS (Discussion and Possible Action)			
	a.	Standing Committees Reports;		
	b.	Working Group Reports;		
	с.	Liaison Reports;		
	d.	Appointment of Committee/Working Group members by Chair.		
6.	ST	AFF BRIEFINGS: None	7:15 PM	
7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS: None			7:15 PM	

8. ANNOUNCEMENTS	7:20 PM	
a. Chair Announcements;b. Items from Commission Members; andc. Items from City Staff.		
ADJOURNMENT		

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 3 days before the meeting date. Please contact Jorge Rousselin in the Planning and Development Review Department, at jorge.rousselin@austintexas.gov or (512) 974-2975, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Design Commission Committees, Working Groups, and Liaisons

Committees

- 1. Bylaws/Policies & Procedures Committee: Wiginton (Chair), Cotera, Whatley
- 2. Executive Committee: Almy (Chair), Taniguchi, Hasbrouck

Working Groups

- 1. Planning and Urban Design Working Group: Whatley (Chair), Cotera, Shieh
- 2. Architecture and Development Working Group: Almy (Chair), Taniguchi, Cotera
- 3. Landscape and Infrastructure Working Group: Hasbrouck (Chair), Wiginton, Almy
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: Wiginton (Chair), Taniguchi, Hasbrouck

Design Commission Liaisons

- 1. Downtown Comm. Liaison / Downtown Austin Plan: Whatley
- 2. Airport Boulevard Redevelopment Initiative: Whatley

Design Commission Staff Liaison:

Jorge E. Rousselin, Development Services Process Coordinator Urban Desgin, Planning and Development Review Department City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704 Phone: (512) 974-2975 ■ E-mail: jorge.rousselin@austintexas.gov

Resources:

- 1. The Urban Design Guidelines for Austin can be accessed here: <u>Urban Design Guidelines for Austin</u>.
- 2. Design Commission backup may be accessed here: Design Commission Backup.