Zero Waste Advisory Commission 2015 Committees and Working Groups Assignments

1. Construction and Demolition Ordinance Committee

Goal: This program is a part of the Master Plan. The Commission developed a committee to solicit the input of stakeholders regarding the ordinance. The program will be a collaborative effort from Austin Energy's Green Building Program, Austin, Planning and Development Review, and Public Works.

Membership:

David Sullivan (ZWAC) Chair Jose Valera (ZWAC) Fayez Kazi (ZWAC) Alternate 1:_____ Alternate 2:_____

Staff:

Woody Raine (ARR) Gena McKinley (ARR)

2. Universal Recycling Ordinance Committee

Goal: The Commission will continue to hold meetings with stakeholders as they develop recommendations to Council.

Membership:

Cathy Gattuso (ZWAC) Chair Rick Cofer (ZWAC) David Sullivan (ZWAC) Alternate 1:_____ Alternate 2:_____

Staff: Jason McCombs (ARR) Gena McKinley (ARR)

3. Organics Management Committee

Goal: The Commission will collaborate with staff by making recommendations to the Austin Resource Recovery Director regarding collaborations with its regional partners to develop policies for food waste prevention and recovery consistent with the Zero Waste Master Plan.

Membership:

Jose Valera (ZWAC) Cathy Gattuso (ZWAC) Brandi Clark Burton (Food Shift Austin) Alternate 1:______ Alternate 2:_____

Staff: Teresa Chapman (ARR)

4. Producer Responsibility Working Group

Goal: The Commission will collaborate with staff by making recommendations to the Austin Resource Recovery Director regarding collaborations with its regional partners to target non-recyclable, non-compostable materials or hard to handle materials across the region.

Membership:

Kendra Bones (ZWAC) Chair Cathy Gattuso (ZWAC) Brent Perdue (Ecology Action) Maia Corbitt (STAR) Andrew Dobbs (Texas Campaign for the Environment)

Staff:

Woody Raine (ARR) Donald Hardee (ARR)

5. Austin Resource Recovery Facilities Working Group

Goal: Gather information and provide recommendations regarding facilities for ARR, including planned campus to be located in North Austin.

Membership:

Fayez Kazi (ZWAC) – Chair Rick Cofer (ZWAC) Dave Sullivan (ZWAC)

Staff:

Bob Gedert (ARR) Sam Angoori (ARR)

Special Liaison

Commissioner Bones will serve as ZWAC liaison to the City of Austin Sustainability Office.