

DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, JUNE 22, 2015 6:00 PM ONE TEXAS CENTER ROOM 325 505 BARTON SPRINGS RD., AUSTIN, TEXAS 78704

Current Commission Members

Dean Almy (DA) — Chair	Juan E. Cotera (JC)
Evan Taniguchi (ET) – Vice Chair	James Shieh (JS)
Hope Hasbrouck (HH) – Secretary	Jeannie Wiginton (JW)
	Bart Whatley (BW)
	Kelsey Oelze (COA – PZD) Staff Liaison
	Jorge E. Rousselin (COA – PZD) Executive Liaison

AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted.

Approx. time CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL 6:00 PM 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL 6:00 PM The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda. 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (Discussion and Possible Action) 6:15 PM a. Discussion and possible action on the February 19, 2014 Design Commission Special-Called meeting minutes. (Jorge Rousselin, COA-PZD) b. Discussion and possible action on the April 23, 2015 Design Commission Executive Committee meeting minutes. (Kelsey Oelze, COA-PZD) c. Discussion and possible action on the May 26, 2015 Design Commission meeting minutes. (Kelsey Oelze, COA-PZD) 3. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action): 6:20 PM a. None 4. OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action) 7:10 PM a. Discussion and possible action on a letter to Council addressing the Infrastructure Design Guidelines completion (Chair Almy).

5. COMMITTEE AND LIAISON REPORTS (Discussion and Possible Action)	7:45PM
a. Standing Committees Reports;	
b. Working Group Reports;	
c. Liaison Reports; and	
d. Appointment of Committee/Working Group members by Chair.	
6. STAFF BRIEFINGS: None	7:50 PM
7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS: None	7:50 PM
8. ANNOUNCEMENTS	7:55 PM
a. Chair Announcements;	
b. Items from Commission Members; and	
c. Items from City Staff.	
ADJOURNMENT	8:00 PM

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Kelsey Oelze in the Planning and Zoning Department, at kelsey.oelze@austintexas.gov or (512) 974-2752, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Design Commission Committees, Working Groups, and Liaisons

Committees

- 1. Bylaws/Policies & Procedures Committee: Wiginton (Chair), Cotera, Whatley
- 2. Executive Committee: Almy (Chair), Taniguchi, Hasbrouck

Working Groups

- 1. Planning and Urban Design Working Group: Whatley (Chair), Cotera, Shieh
- 2. Architecture and Development Working Group: Almy (Chair), Taniguchi, Cotera
- 3. Landscape and Infrastructure Working Group: Hasbrouck (Chair), Wiginton, Almy
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: Wiginton (Chair), Taniguchi, Hasbrouck

Design Commission Liaisons

- 1. Downtown Comm. Liaison / Downtown Austin Plan: Whatley
- 2. Airport Boulevard Redevelopment Initiative: Whatley

Design Commission Staff Liaison:

Kelsey Oelze, Administrative Senior
Urban Design, Planning and Zoning Department
City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704
Phone: (512) 974-2752 ■ E-mail: kelsey.oelze@austintexas.gov

Design Commission Executive Liaison:

Jorge E. Rousselin, Development Services Process Coordinator
Urban Design, Planning and Zoning Department
City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704
Phone: (512) 974-2975 ■ E-mail: jorge.rousselin@austintexas.gov

Resources:

- 1. The Urban Design Guidelines for Austin can be accessed here: Urban Design Guidelines for Austin.
- 2. Design Commission backup may be accessed here: Design Commission Backup.