

FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING (*October 12, 2015*)

The Flood Mitigation Task Force convened in a regular meeting on October 12, 2015 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road in Austin, Texas.

Task Force Members in Attendance:

Marvin Chaney, John Gleason, Dale Gray, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Ken Jacob, Rollin MacRae, Kate Mason-Murphy, Elloa Matthews, Paul Morales, Carol Olewin, John Pitts, Matt Rienstra, Jay Scanlon, and Dorsey Twidwell

Staff in Attendance: Robert Alvarado, Chris Chen, Jean Drew, Joydeep Goswami, Jose Guerrero, Matt Hollon, Tanner Hunt, Larry Jantzen, Jorge Morales, Keith Noble, Joe Pantalion, Katie Pfeil, Scott Prinsen, Kevin Shunk

1. CALL TO ORDER

Watershed Protection Department Acting Director Joe Pantalion called the Task Force Meeting to order at 7:04 p.m.

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL There were no speakers.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes for the regular meeting of September 22, 2015 were approved with the following amendments on Task Force Member Ken Jacob's motion, Task Force Member Robert Kibbie second on a 14-0 vote. Task Force Members Elloa Matthews and Robert Henneke were off the dais. Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Ray Canfield, and Rolando Delgado were absent. The amendment was to name Task Force Member Rose Marie Klee as the second to Task Force Member Dale Gray's motion on agenda item 5b.

4. VOTING ITEMS FROM TASK FORCE

a. Elect Task Force Officers

The motion to nominate Task Force Member Matt Rienstra as Chair of the Flood Mitigation Task Force was made by Task Force Member Matt Rienstra and seconded by Task Force Member Robert Henneke on a vote of 16-0. Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Ray Canfield, and Rolando Delgado were absent.

The motion to nominate Task Force Member Dale Gray as Vice Chair of the Flood Mitigation Task Force was made by Task Force Member Robert Kibbie and seconded by Task Force Member Elloa Matthews on a vote of 16-0 with Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Ray Canfield, and Rolando Delgado absent.

The motion to nominate Task Force Member Carol Olewin as Secretary and Timekeeper of the Flood Mitigation Task Force was made by Task Force Member Dorsey Twidwell and seconded by Task Force Member John Gleason on a vote of 16-0 and Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Ray Canfield, and Rolando Delgado absent.

b. Create Working Groups on selected topics

The motion to establish three working groups (Capital Priorities; Operations and Maintenance; and Buyout Policy) was made by Task Force Member Robert Henneke and seconded by Task Force Member Jay Scanlon on a vote of 15-1 with Task Force Member Marvin Chaney opposed and Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Ray Canfield, and Rolando Delgado absent.

c. Assign Task Force members to Working Groups

The following working group assignments were made with no objections: Task Force Members John Gleason, Robert Henneke, Ken Jacob, Elloa Matthews, Kate Mason-Murphy, Rollin MacRae, and Jay Scanlon were assigned to the Capital Priorities working group; Task Force Members Marvin Chaney, Paul Morales, Carol Olewin, John Pitts, and Dorsey Twidwell were assigned to the Operations and Maintenance working group; and Task Force Members Dale Gray, Robert Kibbie, and Rose Marie Klee were assigned to the Buyout Policy working group.

5. DISCUSSION ITEMS

- a. Discuss staff support to provide technical input/orientation for Working Groups **Item conducted as posted. No action taken.**
- b. Working Group breakout discussions Item was postponed. No action was taken.

6. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- a. October 20 meeting agenda Item conducted as posted. No action taken.
- b. Future meeting dates and topics Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

ADJOURNMENT Chair Matt Rienstra adjourned the meeting at 9:15 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE MEETING MINUTES

For more information on the Flood Mitigation Task Force, please contact Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 or katie.pfeil@austintexas.gov.