

DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, NOVEMBER 23, 2015 6:00 PM ONE TEXAS CENTER ROOM 325 505 BARTON SPRINGS RD., AUSTIN, TEXAS 78704

Current Commission Members

Evan Taniguchi – Chair	Ben Luckens
Bart Whatley – Vice-Chair	Samuel Franco
Heyden Walker	David Carroll
Aan Coleman	Martha Gonzales
Melissa Henao-Robledo	
	Kelsey Oelze (COA – PZD) Staff Liaison Jorge E. Rousselin (COA – PZD) Executive Liaison

AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted.

		tatility territory will be taken in order of at the time postedi	Approx. time
CA	LL T	O ORDER AND ROLL CALL	6:00 PM
1.	CIT	IZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL	6:00 PM
	The	e first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be	
	allo	owed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted	
	on	the agenda.	
2.	AP	PROVAL OF MINUTES (Discussion and Possible Action)	6:15 PM
	a.	Discussion and possible action on the October 26, 2015 Design Commission meeting	
		minutes. (<u>Kelsey Oelze</u> , COA-PZD)	
3.	NE	W BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):	6:20 PM
	a.	Briefing on the basics of form-based code. (<u>Jorge Rousselin</u> , COA-PZD);	
	b.	Planning and Urban Design Working Group review of the urban area shared values:	
		humane character, density, sustainability (<u>E. Taniguchi</u> , <u>H. Walker</u> , <u>B. Whatley</u> , <u>A.</u>	
		Coleman);	
	c.	Architecture and Development Working Group review of the urban area shared	
		values: diversity, economic vitality, civic art (<u>B. Whatley</u> , <u>M. Gonzalez</u> , <u>D. Carroll</u>);	

8:30 PM
8:30 PM
8:35 PM
8:35 PM
8:35 PM
9:00 PM

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Kelsey Oelze in the Planning and Zoning Department, at kelsey.oelze@austintexas.gov or (512) 974-2752, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Design Commission Committees, Working Groups, and Liaisons

Committees

1. Executive Committee: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley

Working Groups

- 1. Planning and Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, H. Walker, B. Whatley, A. Coleman
- 2. Architecture and Development Working Group: B. Whatley, M. Gonzalez, D. Carroll
- 3. Landscape and Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A. Coleman, B. Luckens
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo

Design Commission Liaisons

1. Downtown Comm. Liaison / Downtown Austin Plan: S. Franco

Design Commission Staff Liaison:

Kelsey Oelze, Administrative Senior
Urban Design, Planning and Zoning Department
City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704
Phone: (512) 974-2752 ■ E-mail: kelsey.oelze@austintexas.gov

Design Commission Executive Liaison:

Jorge E. Rousselin, Development Services Process Coordinator
Urban Design, Planning and Zoning Department
City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704
Phone: (512) 974-2975 ■ E-mail: jorge.rousselin@austintexas.gov

Resources:

- 1. The Urban Design Guidelines for Austin can be accessed here: Urban Design Guidelines for Austin.
- 2. Design Commission backup may be accessed here: Design Commission Backup.