

## DESIGN COMMISSION THURSDAY, DECEMBER 17, 2015 6:00 PM AUSTIN ENERGY TOWN LAKE CENTER FIRST FLOOR ASSEMBLY ROOM 721 BARTON SPRINGS RD., AUSTIN, TEXAS 78704

### **Current Commission Members**

Evan Taniguchi – Chair	Ben Luckens
Bart Whatley – Vice-Chair	Samuel Franco
Heyden Walker	David Carroll
Aan Coleman	Martha Gonzales
Melissa Henao-Robledo	

\_\_\_\_\_ Jorge E. Rousselin (COA – PZD) Executive Liaison

# AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted.

		Approx. time
CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL		6:00 PM
1.	CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL	6:00 PM
	The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be	
	allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted	
	on the agenda.	
2.	APPROVAL OF MINUTES (Discussion and Possible Action): None	6:15 PM
3.	NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action): None	6:15 PM
4.	OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):	6:15 PM
	a. Discussion and possible action on the 2016 Design Commission Meeting Schedule.	
	b. Discussion and possible action on creation of Infrastructure Guidelines.	

5. COMMITTEE AND LIAISON REPORTS (Discussion and Possible Action):	
a. Standing Committees Reports;	
b. Working Group Reports;	
c. Liaison Reports; and	
d. Appointment of Committee/Working Group members by Chair.	
6. STAFF BRIEFINGS: None	7:25PM
7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS: None	7:25 PM
8. ANNOUNCEMENTS:	7:30 PM
a. Chair Announcements;	
b. Items from Commission Members; and	
c. Items from City Staff.	
ADJOURNMENT	7:30 PM

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Kelsey Oelze in the Planning and Zoning Department, at <u>kelsey.oelze@austintexas.gov</u> or (512) 974-2752, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

#### Design Commission Committees, Working Groups, and Liaisons

#### **Committees**

- 1. Bylaws/Policies & Procedures Committee:
- 2. Executive Committee: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley, H. Walker

#### Working Groups

- 1. Planning and Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, H. Walker, B. Whatley, A. Coleman
- 2. Architecture and Development Working Group: B. Whatley, M. Gonzalez, D. Carroll
- 3. Landscape and Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A. Coleman, B. Luckens
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo

#### **Design Commission Liaisons**

- 1. Downtown Comm. Liaison / Downtown Austin Plan: Samuel Franco
- 2. Airport Boulevard Redevelopment Initiative:

#### **Design Commission Executive Liaison:**

Jorge E. Rousselin, Development Services Process Coordinator Urban Design, Planning and Zoning Department City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704 Phone: (512) 974-2975 ■ E-mail: jorge.rousselin@austintexas.gov

#### **Resources:**

- 1. The Urban Design Guidelines for Austin can be accessed here: <u>Urban Design Guidelines for Austin</u>.
- 2. Design Commission backup may be accessed here: Design Commission Backup.