

DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, MARCH 28, 2016 6:00 PM AUSTIN CITY HALL, BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM 1101 301 W. SECOND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Current Commission Members

Evan Taniguchi – Chair	Martha Gonzales
Bart Whatley – Vice-Chair	Conor Kenny
David Carroll	Ben Luckens
Aan Coleman	Melissa Henao-Robledo
Samuel Franco	Heyden Walker
	Jorge E. Rousselin (COA – PZD) Executive Liaison

AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted.

Approx. time CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL 6:00 PM 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL 6:00 PM The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda. 2. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action): 6:15 PM a. Briefing on the Capital Metro Transportation Authority Downtown Station (Mark Guerrero, CapMetro); b. Briefing on Subchapter E and Alternative Equivalent Compliance (Donna Galati, COA-DSD); c. Briefing on Parkland Dedication Ordinance (Marilyn Lamendsorf, COA-PARD); d. Discussion and possible action on a Design Commission Resolution to request that the City Council authorize the Commission to utilize the message board at http://austincouncilforum.org/. (Commissioner Kenny; Chair Taniguchi).

3. OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):		7:30 PM	
	a.	Discussion and possible action on the Infrastructure Project application Checklist	
		(Chair Taniguchi);	
	b.	Discussion and possible action on the 2016 Design Commission Annual Work Plan.	
4. COMMITTEE AND LIAISON REPORTS (Discussion and Possible Action):			8:15 PM
	a.	Standing Committees Reports;	
	b.	Working Group Reports;	
	c.	Liaison Reports; and	
	d.	Appointment of Committee/Working Group members by Chair.	
5.	STA	AFF BRIEFINGS: None	8:20 PM
6.	FU	TURE AGENDA ITEMS: None	8:15 PM
7.	7. ANNOUNCEMENTS:		8:20 PM
	a.	Chair Announcements;	
	b.	Items from Commission Members; and	
	c.	Items from City Staff: CodeNEXT: Natural and Built Environment Code Prescription	
AD	JOU	RNMENT	8:30 PM

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Jorge Rousselin in the Planning and Zoning Department, at jorge.rousselin@austintexas.gov or (512) 974-2975, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Design Commission Committees, Working Groups, and Liaisons

Committees

1. Executive Committee: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley

Working Groups

- 1. Planning and Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, H. Walker, B. Whatley, A. Coleman
- 2. Architecture and Development Working Group: B. Whatley, M. Gonzalez, D. Carroll
- 3. Landscape and Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A. Coleman, B. Luckens
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo

Design Commission Liaisons

- 1. Downtown Comm. Liaison / Downtown Austin Plan: Samuel Franco
- 2. Airport Boulevard Redevelopment Initiative: Pending

Design Commission Executive Liaison:

Jorge E. Rousselin, CNU-A
Development Services Process Coordinator
Urban Design, Planning and Zoning Department
City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704
Phone: (512) 974-2975 ■ E-mail: jorge.rousselin@austintexas.gov

Resources:

- The Urban Design Guidelines for Austin can be accessed here:
 Urban Design Guidelines for Austin.
- 2. Design Commission backup may be accessed here: Design Commission Backup.