

DESIGN COMMISSION SPECIAL CALLED MEETING FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 30, 2016 12:00 PM AUSTIN CITY HALL, COUNCIL AIDES 1033 ROOM 301 W. SECOND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Current Commission Members

Evan Taniguchi – Chair	Martha Gonzalez
Bart Whatley – Vice-Chair	Conor Kenny
David Carroll	Ben Luckens
Aan Coleman	Melissa Henao-Robledo
Samuel Franco	Heyden Walker
	Katie Mulholland (COA-PAZ) Executive Liaison
	Nichole Koerth (COA – PAZ) Staff Liaison

AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted.

		Approx. time
CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL		12:00 PM
1.	CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.	12:00 PM
2.	NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action): Discussion and possible action on letter to Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) regarding IH-35 (Chair Taniguchi);	12:15 PM
ADJOURNMENT		1:00 PM

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Nichole Koerth in the Planning and Zoning Department, at nichole.koerth@austintexas.gov or (512) 974-2752, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Design Commission Committees, Working Groups, and Liaisons

Committees

1. Executive Committee: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley

Working Groups

- 1. Planning and Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, H. Walker, B. Whatley, A. Coleman
- 2. Architecture and Development Working Group: B. Whatley, M. Gonzalez, D. Carroll
- 3. Landscape and Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A. Coleman, B. Luckens
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo; C. Kenny

Design Commission Liaisons

1. Downtown Comm. Liaison / Downtown Austin Plan: Samuel Franco

Design Commission Executive Liaison:

Katie Mulholland, Planner
Urban Design, Planning and Zoning Department
City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704
Phone: (512) 974-3362 ■ E-mail: katie.mulholland@austintexas.gov

Design Commission Staff Liaison:

Nichole Koerth, Administrative Senior
Urban Design, Planning and Zoning Department
City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704
Phone: (512) 974-2752 ■ E-mail: nichole.koerth@austintexas.gov

Resources:

- 1. The Urban Design Guidelines for Austin can be accessed here: Urban Design Guidelines for Austin.
- 2. Design Commission backup may be accessed here: Design Commission Backup.