

DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, JANUARY 23, 2017 AT 6:00 PM AUSTIN CITY HALL, BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM 1101 301 W. SECOND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Current Commission Members

| Evan Taniguchi, Chair (Mayor) | Conor Kenny (District 4) |
|---------------------------------------|---|
| Bart Whatley, Vice-Chair (District 9) | Ben Luckens (District 10) |
| David Carroll (District 1) | Melissa Henao-Robledo (District 5) |
| Aan Coleman (District 8) | Heyden Walker (District 7) |
| Samuel Franco (District 3) | Vacant (District 6) |
| Martha Gonzalez (District 2) | |
| | City of Austin Planning & Zoning Staff: Katie Mulholland, Executive Liaison Nichole Koerth, Staff Liaison |

AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted.

| | A | pprox. time |
|-----------------------------|--|-------------|
| CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL | | 6:00 PM |
| 1. | CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL a. The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda. | 6:00 PM |
| 2. | MEETING MINUTES a. Discussion and possible action on the <u>December 19, 2016</u> meeting minutes; | 6:15 PM |
| 3. | NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action): a. Discussion and possible action on the <u>48 East</u> design development submittal, located at 48 East Avenue, <u>seeking support</u> for the project and <u>review for substantial</u> <u>compliance</u> with the Urban Design Guidelines for Austin in accordance with the Gatekeeper requirements of <u>LDC 25-2-586</u> for the Downtown Density Bonus Program (<u>Jim Stephenson</u>, STG Design) | 6:30 PM |
| 4. | OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action): a. Discussion and possible action on the <u>Project Review Application</u> (<u>Chair Taniguchi</u>); b. Discussion and possible action on the <u>Infrastructure Design Guidelines</u> (<u>Chair</u> <u>Taniguchi</u>); | 7:15 PM |

| 5. COMMITTEE AND LIAISON REPORTS (Discussion and Possible Action): | 8:00 PM |
|--|---------|
| a. Standing Committees Reports; | |
| b. Working Group Reports; | |
| c. Liaison Reports; | |
| d. Appointment of Committee/Working Group members by Chair. | |
| 6. STAFF BRIEFINGS: | 8:10 PM |
| a. None | |
| 7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS: | 8:10 PM |
| a. Executive Committee Report | |
| 8. ANNOUNCEMENTS: | 8:15 PM |
| a. Chair Announcements; | |
| b. Items from Commission Members; | |
| c. Items from City Staff; | |
| ADJOURNMENT | 8:30 PM |

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Nichole Koerth in the Planning and Zoning Department at <u>nichole.koerth@austintexas.gov</u> or (512) 974-2752, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Resources

1. Urban Design Guidelines for Austin can be accessed here:

 Full link:
 http://www.austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Boards_and_Commissions/Design_

 Commission_urban_design_guidelines_for_austin.pdf

2. Design Commission backup may be accessed here:

Full link: http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards_commissions/meetings/22_1.htm

3. **Downtown Density Bonus program** may be accessed here:

 Full link:
 https://www.municode.com/library/tx/austin/codes/land_development_code?nodeId=TIT25

 LADE_CH25-2ZO_SUBCHAPTER_CUSDERE_ART3ADRECEDI_SPAGERE_S25-2-586DODEBOPR

Design Commission: Committees, Working Groups, and Liaisons

Committees

1. Executive Committee: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley

Working Groups

- 1. Planning and Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, H. Walker, B. Whatley, A. Coleman
- 2. Architecture and Development Working Group: B. Whatley, M. Gonzalez, D. Carroll
- 3. Landscape and Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A. Coleman, B. Luckens
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo; C. Kenny

Downtown Commission Liaison

1. Downtown Commission Liaison / Downtown Austin Plan: S. Franco

Staff to Design Commission

City of Austin, Planning and Zoning Department, Urban Design Division One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., 5th floor, Austin, TX 78704

Executive Liaison

Katie Mulholland, Planner Phone: (512) 974-3362 ■ E-mail: <u>katie.mulholland@austintexas.gov</u>

Staff Liaison

Nichole Koerth, Administrative Senior Phone: (512) 974-2752 ■ E-mail: <u>nichole.koerth@austintexas.gov</u>

Downtown Density Bonus Liaison

Anne Milne, Planner Phone: (512) 974-2868 ■ E-mail: <u>anne.milne@austintexas.gov</u>