

## BOARD/COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION

## African American Resource Advisory Commission

Recommendation Number: 20170404.005 is the agenda item number: Dedrick – Hamilton House

**WHEREAS**, the City Council established an 18 member Visitor Impact Task Force in part to review current uses of Hotel Occupancy Taxes and the impact of those activities and expenditures on tourism in the City; Review of current tourist activity in the City of Austin and what events, venues, or facilities those tourists attend while visiting; Review of Texas Tax Code Chapter 351 and allowable uses of Hotel Occupancy Taxes under the Tax Code including parks, historic preservation, cultural heritage, music, arts, special events, fee waivers, convention, visitors bureau, transportation, downtown districts, venues and other facilities and debt defeasance for city-owned hotels and convention facilities;

**WHEREAS**, During the March 7, 2017 meeting, Zenobia Joseph made a presentation to the African American Resource Advisory Commission and requested that the City consider using Hotel Occupancy Tax to promote tourism in the East Austin African American Cultural Heritage District known as Six Square, as designated by the State of Texas, and invest particular in such cultural and heritage facilities such as George Washington Carver Museum and the Dedrick Hamilton-House Visitor Center and Doris Miller Auditorium.

**WHEREAS**, the Urban Music Festival is a cultural festival targeting the African American Tourist and provides an economic impact to the City of Austin, the commission further requests a City of Austin Co-Sponsorship designation and funding of the festival via the Hotel Occupancy Tax.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the African American Resource Advisory Commission supports the use of Hotel Occupancy Tax allocation for projects in East Austin that will promote tourism and enhance cultural awareness and projects that helps visitors experience African American Culture.

Date of Approval: 4/4/2017
Record of the vote: 12 – 0, 3 Commissioners absent: Commissioner Hawkins, Commissioner Redmond, and Commissioner Lee
(Staff or board member can sign)