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Legal Matters — General Homestead Exemption

» Texas Tax Code Section 11.13(n)

(n) In addition to any other exemptions provided by this section, an individual is entitled to an exemption from taxation &
by 2 taxing unit of 2 percentage of the appraised value of his residence homestead if the exemption 1z adopted by the governing
body of the taxing unit before July 1 in the manner provided by law for official action by the body. If the percentage set by
the taxing unit produces an exemption in a tax year of less than $5,000 when applied to a particular residence homestead, the

individual is entitled to an exemption of $5,000 of the appraised value. The percentage adopted by the taxing unit may not

exceed 20 percent. #

» Key Points

— Only applies to residence homesteads

— Must be established as a percentage of appraised value
— Must be adopted before July 1%

— Minimum exemption: $5,000

— Maximum exemption: 20% of appraised value




Summary of Local Property Valuation Exemptions

Entity General Hon't\estead Senior/ Dlsoabled Other Exemptions
Exemption Exemption
. . 8%, Historical?,
SHi8 @1 AR minimum of $5,000 252,500 Disabled Veteran2
o) i i 1
Travis County 20%, $80,000 Historical?,

minimum of $5,000

Disabled Veteran?

$35,000 (senior)/

Historicall,

AISD 525,000 225,000 (disabled) Disabled Veteran?
(state-mandated) + . .
Transitional Housing
Tax freeze

1% Historicall

V4 1 14
AcC minimum of $5,000 >135,000 Disabled Veteran?

. 20%, .

Healthcare District $80,000 Disabled Veteran2

minimum of $5,000

1Exemptions for historical properties vary in amount but are granted in accordance with a comprehensive application,
evaluation, and inspection process.

2State law mandates homestead exemptions for disabled veterans (and their surviving spouses). The level of the

exemption is determined by the veteran’s disability level.

3




Summary of Property Value Exemptions
Large Texas Cities

General Homestead Senior/Disabled Other

City Exemption Exemption Exemptions

8%, minimum of Historical,

IR @7 BT S5,000 582,500 Disabled Veteran*
$65,000
San Antonio 0% 162 yearsoarnd sl Disabled Veteran*

$12,500 (disabled)

20%, minimum of

: £ 3
Houston &5 000 $160,000 Disabled Veteran
20%, minimum of : %
Dallas &5 000 S64,000 Disabled Veteran
o
Fort Worth 205 TR @) S40,000 Disabled Veteran*

$5,000

*State law mandates homestead exemptions for disabled veterans (and their surviving spouses). The level of the exemption is
4 determined by the veteran’s disability level.




Homestead Exemption

Scenarios

1% 9% ($1.6M) $11.66 $3.98
2% 10% ($3.3M) $23.61 $8.07
3% 11% ($5.0M) $35.59 $12.16
4% 12% ($6.7M) $47.85 $16.35
5% 13% ($8.4M) $59.87 $20.46
6% 14% ($10.1M) $71.91 $24.57

*All impacts calculated at projected rollback rate.
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