

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, May 3, 2017

The Environmental Commission convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, May 3, 2017 at City Hall in the Council Chambers at 301 W. 2nd Street, Austin, Texas 78701.

Commissioners in Attendance:

Andrew Creel

Marisa Perales

Brytne Kitchin

Wendy Gordon

Pam Thompson

Brian Smith

Commissioners Absent:

Mary Ann Neely

Linda Guerrero

Peggy Maceo

Hank Smith

Staff in Attendance:

Pamela Abee-Tauli

Andrea Bates

Kaela Champlin

Chuck Lesniak

Scott Hiers

Janna Renfro

Brent Bellinger

Sue Barnett

Fred Fuller

1. CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Perales called the meeting to order at 6:06 P.M.

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

3. EDUCATION

a. None

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the regular Environmental Commission meeting of April 5, 2017 Commissioner Thompson made a motion and was seconded by Commissioner Kitchin A motion to approve the minutes of April 5, 2017 was approved on Commissioner Thompson's motion, Commissioner Kitchin's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioners Neely, Maceo, Guerrero and H. Smith were absent.

5. ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER'S UPDATE ON PAST COMMISSION ACTIONS AND REPORT ON ITEMS OF INTEREST

a. None

6. STAFF BRIEFINGS*

a. None

7. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

 a. Country Club Creek channel rehabilitation and restoration in Roy G. Guerrero Colorado River Park—Janna Renfro, Engineer C and Eric Loucks, Supervising Engineer, Watershed Protection Department

Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

Speakers

Malcolm Yeatts

b. Review and recommend approval to include Austin Water (AW) Capital Improvement Projects (CIP) located in the Drinking Water Protection Zone (DWPZ) in AW's 5-year capital spending plan as required by AW's financial policy #8—Kristi Fenton, Utility Financial Manager, Austin Water

Commissioner Gordon made a motion to recommend approval of the Drinking Water Protection Zone projects related to new water and wastewater plants, capital expansions, and growth-related projects to be included in the Austin Water's 5-year Capital Improvement Program with final approval by City Council during the annual budget approval process, Commissioner Creel's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioners Neely, Maceo, Guerrero and H. Smith were absent.

8. PUBLIC HEARINGS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Name: Bulkhead for 2200 Lauranne Lane, SP-2016-0420D (D-10)

Applicant: Bruce S. Aupperle, P.E.

Location: 10088 Circleview Dr., Austin, TX 78733

Staff: Scott Hiers, Senior Environmental Scientist, Watershed Protection Department

Watershed: Lake Austin Water Supply Rural Drinking Water Protection Zone

Request: Variance from 25-8-281(C)(2)(b) Critical Environmental Features, to allow

construction of a bulkhead and shoreline stabilization within a Critical Environmental Feature

(CEF) buffer for a canyon rimrock.

Staff Recommendation: Recommended for approval with conditions

Reasons for Recommendation: Findings of fact have been met

Commissioner Gordon made a motion to recommend approval of the variance for the

Bulkhead for 2200 Lauranne Lane as recommended by staff with conditions,

Commissioner Kitchin's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioners Neely, Maceo, Guerrero and H. Smith were absent.

b. Proposed amendments to the Watershed Protection Ordinance—Andrea Bates, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection Department

Commissioner Gordon made a motion to recommend approval of the Watershed Protection Ordinance proposed amendments as they have been recommended by staff with conditions, Commissioner Kitchin's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioners Neely, Maceo, Guerrero and H. Smith were absent.

9. COMMITTEE REPORTS

a. Urban Growth Policy Committee - Marisa Perales, Pam Thompson, and Hank Smith

- b. Development Committee Marisa Perales, Richard Grayum, Pam Thompson, and Hank Smith
- c. Water Quality Regulations Committee Mary Ann Neely, Brian Smith, Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Hank Smith, Richard Grayum, and Andrew Creel
- d. Watershed Protection Budget Committee Marisa Perales, Mary Ann Neely, Andrew Creel, and Pam Thompson
- e. Air Quality Committee Marisa Perales, Mary Ann Neely, Andrew Creel, Peggy Maceo, and Pam Thompson, Linda Guerrero
- f. Urban Forest Committee Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Linda Guerrero and Mary Ann Neely
- g. Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee Marisa Perales, Pam Thompson, Mary Ann Neely, Michael Moya, Hank Smith, Richard Grayum and Brian Smith Commissioner Perales gave an update on the Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee.
- h. Report from Pam Thompson on the Visitor Impact Task Force Commissioner Thompson gave a report on the Visitor Impact Task Force recommendations.
- i. Report from Mary Ann Neely on the Joint Sustainability Committee
- j. Report from Mary Ann Neely on the Balcones Canyon Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee
- k. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board – Linda Guerrero, Mary Ann Neely, Peggy Maceo, and Michael Moya
- 1. Other reports from Commissioners

 Commissioner Gordon gave a report on the Green Infrastructure Working Group.

10. NEW BUSINESS – Future agenda items

- a. Commissioner Thompson requested a briefing on the Visitor Impact Task Force Recommendations
- b. Commissioner Thompson requested information on the walkway closed on State Highway 183 Bridge and the construction / erosion measures below Montopolis Bridge

11. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Perales adjourned the meeting at 9:56 P.M.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).