

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION DRAINAGE INFRASTRUCTURE AND FLOOD MITIGATION COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

The Environmental Commission Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, April 19, 2017 at One Texas Center in Big 12 Conference Room at 505 Barton Springs Road, Austin, Texas 78767.

Commissioners in Attendance:

Marisa Perales Pam Thompson Hank Smith

Ex-Officio Members in Attendance:

Ken Jacob Carol Olewin

Commissioners Absent:

Mary Ann Neely Brian Smith

Staff in Attendance:

Kaela Champlin Alex Gale Matt Hollon Pam Kearfott Chuck Lesniak

Saul Nuccitelli

Mike Personett

1. CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Perales called the meeting to order at 11:15 a.m.

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee meeting of April 5, 2017

The April 5, 2017 minutes of the Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee meeting were approved on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion, Commissioner Thompson's second on a 3-0 vote. Commissioners Neely and B. Smith were absent.

4. STAFF BRIEFINGS*

 a. Briefing on City of Austin's Flood Buyout Projects and status update on current flood buyouts— Alex Gale, Assistant Director, Office of Real Estate Services and Pam Kearfott, Supervising Engineer, Watershed Protection Department

Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

5. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Perales adjourned the meeting at 12:36 p.m.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).