Economic Prosperity Commission October 18, 2017 6:30pm City Hall Bull Pen Room 1029 301 W. 2nd Street, Austin, TX 78701



CALL TO ORDER: Meeting was called to order at 7:00 pm on Wednesday, September 20, 2017.

1. OPENING REMARKS

Introduction of members and staff liaison

2. Attendance:

a. City Staff:

Vicky Valdez-Executive liaison, Michelle Clemons- Executive Staff liaison, Blake Smith- Staff liaison, Jessica Armstrong- Staff liaison.

b. Commission Members Present:

District 2 appointee Kirsha Haverlah, District 3 appointee Roberto Rondero de Mosier, District 4 appointee Hannah Frankel, District 7 appointee Amy Noel, District 9 appointee Kevin Opp, District 10 appointee Holt Lackey,

c. Absent:

At-Large appointee Orlando Segura, District 1 appointee Marina Bhargava

3. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION:

a. No citizens have signed up to speak.

4. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION:

- **a. Appoint new Joint Sustainability Committee member:** Move to November Meeting.
- **b. Approval of September Meeting Minutes:** Motion to approve the September minutes by Commissioner Holt Lackey, second by Commissioner Kevin Opp, motion passes on a 6-0 vote, with 4 absent, Commissioner Marina Bhargava, Commissioner Afton Cavanaugh, Commissioner Orlando Segura and Commissioner Michael Joyce.
- c. Possible creation of further working groups for 2017:

5. OLD BUSINESS FOR DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- a. Update from working group on the Workforce Solution Master Community Workforce Plan and recommendation to council: No update from working group.
- b. Update from working group on the Greater Austin Chamber of Commerce Meeting and recommendation to council: Update from Commissioner Holt Lackey's meeting with Greater Austin Chamber CEO Mike Rollins. Discussion on draft recommendation regarding Amazon. Motion to approve the recommendation by

Commissioner Holt Lackey, seconded by Commissioner Kirsha Haverlah motion passes on a 6-0 vote, with 4 absent, Commissioner Marina Bhargava, Commissioner Afton Cavanaugh, Commissioner Orlando Segura and Commissioner Michael Joyce.

- c. Update from working group for the Chapter 380 Performance-Based Contracts Policy Revision and recommendation to council regarding commission review: Motion to approve the recommendation by Commissioner Amy Noel, seconded by Commissioner Kevin Opp motion passes on a 6-0 vote, with 4 absent, Commissioner Marina Bhargava, Commissioner Afton Cavanaugh, Commissioner Orlando Segura and Commissioner Michael Joyce.
- d. Update from working group on response to Council Resolution 20170323-053 local workers cooperatives and recommendation to council: Update on draft recommendation by Commissioner Hannah Frankel. Motion to approve the recommendation by Commissioner Hannah Frankel, seconded by Commissioner Kevin Opp motion passes on a 6-0 vote, with 4 absent, Commissioner Marina Bhargava, Commissioner Afton Cavanaugh, Commissioner Orlando Segura and Commissioner Michael Joyce.
- e. Discussion and possible action on recommendations for Draft 2 of CodeNEXT: Update on draft memo to the Planning Commission and Council regarding CodeNEXT draft 2. Motion to approve the recommendation by Commissioner Kevin Opp, seconded by Commissioner Hannah Frankel motion passes on a 6-0 vote, with 4 absent, Commissioner Marina Bhargava, Commissioner Afton Cavanaugh, Commissioner Orlando Segura and Commissioner Michael Joyce.

6. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting was adjourned at 9:19 pm.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Michelle Clemons at Economic Development Department, at (512-974-2713), for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Economic Prosperity Commission, please contact Michelle Clemons at (Michelle.Clemons@austintexas.gov or 512-974-2713).