

DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, DECEMBER 18, 2017 AT 6:00 PM AUSTIN CITY HALL, BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM 1101 301 W. SECOND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Commission Members

David Carroll, Chair (District 1)	Aan Coleman (District 8)
Martha Gonzalez, Vice-Chair (District 2)	Beau Frail (District 6)
	Samuel Franco (District 3)
	Katie Halloran (District 7)
	Melissa Henao-Robledo (District 5)
	Ben Luckens (District 10)
Planning & Zoning Staff	Evan Taniguchi (Mayor)
Katie Mulholland, Executive Liaison	Bart Whatley (District 9)
Nichole Koerth, Staff Liaison	Vacant (District 4)

AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted.

	A	pprox. time
CA	LL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL	6:00 PM
1.	CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL	6:05 PM
	 The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda (15 mins.); 	
2.	MEETING MINUTES (Discussion and Possible Action):	6:20 PM
	a. Discussion and possible action on the November 27, 2017 meeting minutes (5 mins.);	
3.	NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):	6:25 PM
	 a. Staff presentation on City of Austin tree mitigation fund (<u>Jason Treweek</u>, COA Development Services) (10 mins.); 	
4.	OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):	6:35 PM
	a. Courtesy briefing on the Capital Metro Transportation Authority Downtown Station	
	(<u>Marcus Guerrero</u> , CapMetro) (25 mins.);	
	b. Staff presentation on trees and density bonus projects (<u>Humberto Rey</u> , COA Planning	
	& Zoning; <u>Keith Mars</u> , COA Development Services) (30 mins.);	
	c. Courtesy briefing on director's determination of substantial compliance for 405	
	Colorado density bonus project (Greg Guernsey and Anne Milne, COA Planning &	

	Zoning Dept.) (20 mins.)	
d. C	Courtesy briefing on municipal buildings , including Shipe Park and Onion Creek Fire &	
	EMS Station (Janice White, COA Public Works Dept.) (15 mins.)	
5. COMN	IISSION-SPECIFIC BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):	8:05 PM
a. D	Discussion and possible action on how the Design Commission reviews against the	
	Urban Design Guidelines and what substantial compliance means (Chair D. Carroll) (20 min.);	
b. D	Discussion and possible action on upgrading and incorporating infrastructure into	
	the Urban Design Guidelines as directed by <u>Council Resolution 20120816-060</u> (<u>Chair</u> <u>D. Carroll</u>) (20 mins.);	
	iaison Reports (10 mins.);	
	ppointment of Committee/Working Group members by Chair;	
6. FUTUR	E AGENDA ITEMS:	8:55 PM
a. D	owntown Parking Strategy by Downtown Austin Alliance (January 2018)	
7. ANNOUNCEMENTS:		9:00 PM
a. C	Chair Announcements;	
b. It	tems from Commission Members;	
c. It	tems from City Staff;	
ADJOURI	NMENT	9:10 PM

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Nichole Koerth in the Planning and Zoning Department at <u>nichole.koerth@austintexas.gov</u> or (512) 974-2752, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Committees, Working Groups, Representatives, and Liaisons

Committees

1. Executive Committee: D. Carroll (Chair), M. Gonzalez (Vice Chair)

Working Groups

- 1. Planning & Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley, A. Coleman, D. Carroll
- 2. Architecture & Development Working Group: B. Whatley, M. Gonzalez, D. Carroll, B. Frail
- 3. Landscape & Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A. Coleman, K. Halloran
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, vacant
- 5. CodeNEXT Working Group: D. Carroll, M. Gonzalez
- 6. Infrastructure Design Guidelines Working Group: D. Carroll, M. Gonzalez, E. Taniguchi

Representatives & Liaisons

- 1. South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Representative: S. Franco
- 2. Downtown Commission Liaison: M. Henao-Robledo
- 3. Joint Sustainability Committee Liaison: vacant

Staff

City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704 Planning and Zoning Department, Urban Design Division, 5th floor

Executive Liaison: <u>Katie.Mulholland@austintexas.gov</u> (512) 974-3362 Staff Liaison: <u>Nichole.Koerth@austintexas.gov</u> (512) 974-2752 Downtown Density Bonus: <u>Anne.Milne@austintexas.gov</u> (512) 974-2868

Public Works Department, Office of the City Architect, 9th floor

City Architect: Janice.White@austintexas.gov (512) 974-7997

Resources

- 1. Website: <u>https://www.austintexas.gov/designcommission</u>
- 2. Backup: <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards_commissions/meetings/22_1.htm</u>
- 3. Urban Design Guidelines for Austin:

http://www.austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Boards_and_Commissions/Design_ Commission_urban_design_guidelines_for_austin.pdf

4. Downtown Density Bonus program:

https://www.municode.com/library/tx/austin/codes/land_development_code?nodeId=TIT25_LADE_CH25-2ZO_SUBCHAPTER_CUSDERE_ART3ADRECEDI_SPAGERE_S25-2-586DODEBOP