

The Resource Management Commission (RMC) convened a special-called meeting on Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at Town Lake Center, 721 Barton Springs Road, in Austin, Texas.

<u>Commissioners in Attendance</u>: Leo Dielmann, Chair; Cyrus Reed, Vice Chair; James Babyak, Rebecca Brenneman, Scott Kohan, Derrick Lesnau and Kaiba White. Commissioner Natasha Madison and Susanne Vaughan were absent. There are two vacancies on the Commission, for Council Districts 4 and 5.

<u>Staff in Attendance</u>: Khalil Shalabi, Debbie Kimberly, Danielle Murray, Mike Enger and Toye Goodson of Austin Energy.

CALL TO ORDER – Chair Dielmann called the meeting to order at 6:36 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve minutes of the November 14, 2017 meeting.

Motion to approve by Chair Dielmann, seconded by Commissioner Lesnau, passed on a
6-0 vote, with Commissioner White off the dais, Commissioners Madison and Vaughan
absent and two vacancies.

CITIZEN COMMUNICATIONS: GENERAL

Paul Robbins announced that he filed an appeal with the Texas Railroad Commission requesting that they disallow Texas Gas Service conservation programs that are not cost effective.

NEW BUSINESS

2. Recommend negotiation and execution of a 15-year power purchase agreement with a subsidiary of INTERSECT POWER for the full output of electricity from a utility-scale solar generation facility with capacity of 150 to 180 megawatts, in an estimated amount of \$10,000,000 to \$12,000,000 per year, and a total estimated amount of \$150,000,000 to \$180,000,000.

Mike Enger, Energy Market Supervisor, provided information regarding the proposed PPA for solar energy. Motion to approve by Vice Chair Reed, seconded by Commissioner White, passed on a 7-0 vote, with Commissioners Madison and Vaughan absent and two vacancies.

OLD BUSINESS

3. <u>Discussion and possible action regarding a community solar program for low-income</u> customers.

Danielle Murray, Solar Program Manager, presented details on setting aside half the capacity of the La Loma Community Solar project for Customer Assistance Program (CAP) participants at a discount. **Motion to approve by Commissioner White, seconded**

by Vice Chair Reed, passed on a 7-0 vote, with Commissioners Madison and Vaughan absent and two vacancies.

4. <u>Discussion and possible action regarding possible changes to the residential solar incentive program.</u>

Danielle Murray reviewed the planned ramp down of the current capacity-based residential solar incentive program and outlined a proposed education-based program that would include a flat incentive amount. Members formed a Working Group, composed of Commissioners Babyak, Brenneman, Kohan and White, to provide input on the program.

BRIEFING

5. <u>Dispatchable renewable energy technologies by Paul Robbins</u>. This presentation was withdrawn, as requested by Mr. Robbins.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

6. <u>Discuss potential future agenda items</u>. Members requested a continuation of the discussion regarding the residential solar incentive program at next month's meeting.

ADJOURNMENT – Chair Dielmann adjourned the meeting without objection at 8:00 p.m.