

Electric Board Draft MINUTES

BOARD MEETING November 15, 2017

The Electric Board convened in a Board Meeting on November 15, 2017 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road, Room 300, Austin, Texas.

Board Chair Pomikahl called the Board Meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Board Members in Attendance: Randy Pomikahl, David Johnson, Robert Schmidt, Gabriel Flores, Delwin Goss, Robert Bowne, David Dixon, Mark Weaver, Michael Portnoy, and Matt Friestman.

Members Not in Attendance: Jacob Pereira.

Staff in Attendance: Richard Anderson (DSD), Julie Kirby(DSD), Carl Thompson(DSD), Jose Roig (DSD),

1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: None.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES: The minutes from the August 16, 2017 meeting was approved as amended on Vice Chair Johnson's motion and second by Friestman for a 10-0 vote.

3. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION:

a) Approved Annual Board Calendar.

Vice Chair Johnson made a motion to approve the 2018 Board schedule as written second by Weaver for a 10-0 vote.

b) Discuss the registration of electrical contractors.

Jose Roig stated that the City will continue to register electrical contractors per Section 80.36 of the previous ordinance, but not charge for registration. The Permit Center will continue to confirm licensing with TDLR website and proof of current insurance. If either expire, then registration will be suspended. Vice Chair Johnson stated two points of concern: The Registration process deleted from the ordinance, so the written process would be helpful in the ordinance for electrical contractors. Secondly, what the City is currently doing about enforcement of unlicensed contractors. Carl Thompson explained that Electrical Inspectors currently check licenses and subcontracting, and his office has issued many warning letters and further report to TDLR. Richard Anderson added that the Permit Office maintains current proof of insurance for registered contractors in Austin. Vice Chair Johnson made a motion to establish a Work Group to revise the ordinance by adding the registration rules language back in the ordinance, was second by Board Member Friestman for a 10-0 vote. Work Group to consist of Randy Pomikahl, David Johnson, Mark Weaver, Bob Bowne, Carl Thompson and Richard Anderson.

4. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS:

-Revised draft ordinance.

5. ADJOURN

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Pomikahl, and the meeting adjourned at 11:10 a.m.