

BOND ELECTION ADVISORY TASK FORCE MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING August 18, 2017

The Bond Election Advisory Task Force convened in a regular meeting on August 18, 2017 in Austin, Texas.

Staff called the meeting to order at 3:01 PM

Board Members in Attendance:

Tom Nuckols, Chair Bruce Evans, Vice Chair Jeremiah Bentley Estrella de Leon Joh McNabb Herbert "Ken" Rigsbee Santiago Rodriguez Jeff Smith Dorsey Twidwell Robert Walker Yasmiyn Irizarry

Staff in Attendance:

Katy Zamesnik, Financial Services

CALL TO ORDER

1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION

None.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

The minutes were approved on Task Force Member Rigsbee's motion, seconded by Task Force Member Santiago, on a 11-0 vote, with Chair Nuckols and Member Smith off the dais.

3. NEW BUSINESS – BRIEFINGS

4. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Discussion and possible action on a community engagement plan

b. Reports and possible action on items from working groups

Each Working Group chair presented on the information they've received at their working groups so far. This included high level information from departmental presentations.

c. Discussion and possible action on development of guidelines, prioritization metrics, or other criteria for evaluation and ranking bond projects, and for development of a framework of Task Force recommendations.

Chair Nuckols stated he wants to provide Council with three options for the bond- no tax increase, one cent, or two cent increase. The Task Force asked for the departments to provide levels of funding at the three different levels within the categories.

Chair Nuckols requested that members review the prioritization methodology sent out by Member DasGupta and provide comments back to staff.

5. FUTURE AGENDAS

- Mapping overlay of the projects/programs currently in staff's recommended starting point
- Discussion of Certificates of Obligations
- Member DasGupta's ranking prioritization
- Discussion of funding levels

6. ADJOURN

Staff adjourned the meeting at 3:45 PM without objection

The minutes from August 18, 0172 were approved on Task Force Member Smith's motion, seconded by Task Force Member Santiago, on an 8-0-1 vote, with Chair Nuckols and Members McNabb, Bentley, and DeLeon off the dais and Member DasGupta abstaining