

DESIGN COMMISSION SPECIAL CALLED MEETING FRIDAY, MAY 18, 2018 AT 3:00 PM

AUSTIN CITY HALL, BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM 1101 301 W. SECOND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Commission Members

David Carroll, Chair (District 1)	Aan Coleman (District 8)
Martha Gonzalez, Vice-Chair (District 2)	Beau Frail (District 6)
	Samuel Franco (District 3)
	Katie Halloran (District 7)
	Melissa Henao-Robledo (District 5)
	Ben Luckens (District 10)
City of Austin Planning & Zoning Staff	Evan Taniguchi (Mayor)
Benjamin Campbell, Executive Liaison	Bart Whatley (District 9)
Nichole Koerth, Staff Liaison	Vacant (District 4)

REVISED AGENDA

Please note: Posted times are for time-keeping purposes only. The Commission may take any item(s) out of order and no express guarantee is given that any item(s) will be taken in order or at the time posted.

Approx. time

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL	3:00 PM
CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL a. The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order with the allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding posted on the agenda (15 mins.);	
NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action): a. Discussion and possible action on the Planning Commission's recommendat Draft 3 of CodeNext.	ions for 3:15 PM
ADJOURNMENT	

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Nichole Koerth in the Planning and Zoning Department at nichole.koerth@austintexas.gov or (512) 974-2752, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Design Commission: Committees, Working Groups, Representatives and Liaisons

Committees

1. Executive Committee: D. Carroll (Chair), M. Gonzalez (Vice Chair)

Working Groups

- 1. Planning & Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley, A. Coleman, D. Carroll
- 2. Architecture & Development Working Group: B. Whatley, M. Gonzalez, D. Carroll, B. Frail
- 3. Landscape & Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A. Coleman, K. Halloran
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo
- 5. CodeNEXT Working Group: D. Carroll, M. Gonzalez
- 6. Infrastructure Design Guidelines Working Group: D. Carroll, M. Gonzalez, E. Taniguchi, B. Luckens

Representatives & Liaisons

- 1. South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Representative: S. Franco
- 2. Downtown Commission Liaison: M. Henao-Robledo
- 3. Joint Sustainability Committee Liaison:

Staff to Design Commission

City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704 Planning and Zoning Department, Urban Design Division, 5th floor

Executive Liaison: Benjamin.Campbell@austintexas.gov (512) 974-7691

Staff Liaison: Nichole.Koerth@austintexas.gov (512) 974-2752

Downtown Density Bonus Program: Anne.Milne@austintexas.gov (512) 974-2868

Public Works Department, Office of the City Architect, 9th floor

City Architect: Janice. White@austintexas.gov (512) 974-7997

Resources

1. Urban Design Guidelines for Austin:

http://www.austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Boards_and_Commissions/Design_Commission_urban_design_guidelines_for_austin.pdf

2. Design Commission backup:

http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards_commissions/meetings/22_1.htm

3. Downtown Density Bonus program:

https://www.municode.com/library/tx/austin/codes/land_development_code?nodeId=TIT25_LADE_CH25-2ZO_SUBCHAPTER_CUSDERE_ART3ADRECEDI_SPAGERE_S25-2-586DODEBOP