

# ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, May 2, 2018

The Environmental Commission convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, May 2, 2018 at City Hall in Council Chambers at 301 W. 2<sup>nd</sup> Street, Austin, Texas 78701.

## **Commissioners in Attendance:**

**Brian Smith** 

**Andrew Creel** 

**Pam Thompson** 

Peggy Maceo

**Marisa Perales** 

**Hank Smith** 

**Katie Covne** 

Linda Guerrero

**Wendy Gordon** 

### **Commissioners Absent:**

Alesha Istvan

**Mary Ann Neely** 

## **Staff in Attendance:**

**Kaela Champlin** 

**Chuck Lesniak** 

Cait McCann

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Perales called the meeting to order at 6:02 P.M.

## 2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

None

### 3. EDUCATION

a. None

### 4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the regular Environmental Commission meeting of April 18, 2018 (5 minutes)

The minutes of the regular Environmental Commission meeting of April 18, 2018 were approved on Commissioner H. Smith's motion, Commissioner Thompson's second on a 9-0 vote. Commissioners Istvan and Neely were absent.

# 5. ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER'S UPDATE ON PAST COMMISSION ACTIONS AND REPORT ON ITEMS OF INTEREST

a. Update on the 2017 State of Our Environment Report (30 minutes) Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

## 6. STAFF BRIEFINGS\*

a. None

### 7. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Elections of Environmental Commission Officers for the May 1, 2018 through April 30, 2019 term (30 minutes)

A motion to nominate Commissioner Hank Smith as Secretary of the Environmental Commission was approved on Commissioner Thompson's motion, Commissioner Creel's second on a 9-0 vote. Commissioners Istvan and Neely were absent.

A ballot election was held to determine the Vice Chair of the Environmental Commission.

Number of votes cast: 9 Necessary for election: 6

Commissioner Coyne received: 3 Commissioner Gordon received: 6

Commissioner Gordon was elected as Vice Chair of the Environmental Commission.

Commissioners Istvan and Neely were absent.

A motion to nominate Commissioner Guerrero as Chair of the Environmental Commission was approved on Commissioner Maceo's motion, Commissioner Thompson's second on a 9-0 vote. Commissioners Istvan and Neely were absent.

## 8. PUBLIC HEARINGS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. None

#### 9. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a. Urban Growth Policy and Water Quality Protection Committee Marisa Perales, Pam Thompson, Hank Smith, Linda Guerrero, Wendy Gordon
- b. Development Committee Marisa Perales, Pam Thompson, Hank Smith, Alesha Istvan, Katie Coyne
- c. Air Quality Committee -Mary Ann Neely, Pam Thompson, Wendy Gordon and Alesha Istvan
- d. Urban Forestry Committee Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Linda Guerrero, Mary Ann Neely and Wendy Gordon
- e. Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee Marisa Perales, Pam Thompson, Mary Ann Neely, Hank Smith and Brian Smith
- i. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee Katie Coyne
- j. Report from Mary Ann Neely on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee
- k. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Mary Ann Neely, Peggy Maceo, Linda Guerrero and Alesha Istvan

1. Other reports from Commissioners- Commissioner H. Smith and Gordon gave an update on the Water Forward Task Force.

## 10. NEW BUSINESS – Future agenda items

a. None

## 11. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Guerrero adjourned the meeting at 7:02 PM.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

\* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).