

ETHICS REVIEW COMMISSION

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, May 9, 2018

The Ethics Review Commission ("Commission") convened in a regular meeting on Wednesday, May 9, 2018, at City Hall, 301 W. 2nd Street, Room 1027 in Austin, Texas.

Chair Peter Einhorn called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

Commissioners in attendance: Chair Peter Einhorn, Vice Chair Meagan Harding, Secretary Ben Stratmann, Debra Danburg, Mary Kahle, Donna Beth McCormick, Luis Soberon and Brian Thompson.

City Staff in Attendance: Division Chief and Assistant City Attorney, Cindy Crosby; Assistant City Attorney, Lynn Carter; and Commission Staff Liaison, Sue Palmer.

1. GENERAL CITIZEN COMMUNICATION

The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No speakers signed up for general citizen communication.

2. OLD BUSINESS

Discussion and possible action regarding the following:

(a) Proposed amendments to City Code Chapter 2-7 (Ethics and Financial Disclosure) related to the Ethics Review Commission's subpoena power.

Division Chief and Assistant City Attorney, Cindy Crosby, provided an update to the Commission and answered questions. No action was taken.

(b) Charter Review Commission recommendations.

Commissioner Danburg made a motion to create a working group to make recommendations on the Charter Review Commission (CRC) report/recommendations to Council, which was seconded by Commissioner McCormick. The motion passed on a vote of 7-0-1. Members voting aye: Chair Einhorn, Secretary Stratmann, and Commissioners Danburg, Kahle, McCormick, Soberon, and Thompson. Vice Chair Harding abstained. Commissioners Ohueri and Speight were absent.

Secretary Stratmann made a motion to approve the elect Commissioners Danburg, McCormick, Soberon and Thompson to the CRC working group which was seconded by Commissioner Danburg. The motion passed on a vote of 7-0-1. Members voting aye: Chair Einhorn, Secretary Stratmann and Commissioners Danburg, Kahle, McCormick, Soberon, and Thompson. Vice Chair Harding abstained. Commissioners Ohueri and Speight were absent.

3. NEW BUSINESS

Discussion and possible action regarding the following:

(a) Annual Commission officer elections, for terms of May 1, 2018 – April 30, 2019.

Commissioner McCormick made a motion to elect Secretary Stratmann as Chair, which was seconded by Commissioner Thompson. The motion passed on a vote of 7-0-1. Members voting aye: Chair Einhorn, Vice Chair Harding and Commissioners Danburg, Kahle, McCormick, Soberon, and Thompson. Secretary Stratmann abstained. Commissioners Ohueri and Speight were absent.

Newly elected Chair Stratmann took over as chair/presiding officer.

Commissioner McCormick made a motion to elect Commissioner Speight as Vice Chair, which was seconded by Commissioner Einhorn. The motion passed on a unanimous vote. Commissioners Ohueri and Speight were absent.

Commissioner Einhorn made a motion to elect Commissioner Soberon as Secretary, which was seconded by Chair Stratmann. The motion passed on a vote of 7-0-1. Members voting aye: Chair Stratmann and Commissioners Danburg, Einhorn, Harding, Kahle, McCormick and Thompson. Commissioner Soberon abstained. Commissioners Ohueri and Speight were absent.

(b) City of Austin's budget process

No action was taken.

(c) City Council Candidate forum planning

Commissioner McCormick, who serves as a committee of one for council candidate forum working group, provided an update on the process.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM THE APRIL 11, 2018 REGULAR COMMISSION MEETING

Commissioner Einhorn made a motion to approve the minutes, which was seconded by Commissioner Harding. The motion passed on a unanimous vote. Commissioners Ohueri and Speight were absent.

5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

The following were discussed as future agenda items: CRC working group's report and possible action on the CRCs' proposed recommendations for amendments to the City Charter.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Harding made a motion to adjourn, which was seconded by Commissioner Kahle. The motion passed on a unanimous vote. Commissioners Ohueri and Speight were absent.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:22 p.m.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least two (2) days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Sue Palmer at the Law Department, at (512) 974-2915 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Ethics Review Commission, please contact Sue Palmer at (512) 974-2915 or Lynn Carter at (512) 974-2171.