Austin/Travis County Sobriety Center Local Government Corporation

Board of Directors
Special Called Meeting
Minutes

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Board of Directors:

Chair: Judge Nancy Hohengarten Director: Stephen Strakowski Director: Christopher Ziebell Director: Craig Moore Director: Douglas Smith Director: Jana Ortega Director: Bill Brice

Director: Mayor Pro Tem Kathie Tovo Director: Commissioner Margaret Gomez

Director: Reginald Smith

Director: Andy Brown

Ex-Officio: Asst. City Manager Rey Arellano
Ex-Officio: Asst. Chief Justin Newsom
Ex-Officio: Asst. Chief Jasper Brown
Ex-Officio: Director Stephanie Hayden

The Board of Directors of the Austin/Travis County Sobriety Center Local Government Corporation convened a Special Called meeting on Wednesday July 11, 2018 at the Travis County Administrative Building, Multipurpose Room C, Austin, Texas. The following items were considered by the Austin/Travis County Sobriety Center Board of Directors.

Board Members in Attendance: Judge Nancy Hohengarten, Chair; Jana Ortega, Vice Chair; Bill Brice, Secretary; Doug Smith, Treasurer; Craig Moore; Stephen Strakowski **Ex-Officio Members in Attendance:** Rey Arellano, Stephanie Hayden, Justin Newsom **Staff in Attendance:** Rhonda G. Patrick, Executive Director **Guest:** Katelyn Lowery

- 1. Chair Hohengarten called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m. and introduced Ms. Katelyn Lowery. Ms. Lowery is an employee of Mission Capital and the facilitator for a board training session.
- 2. Ms. Lowery provided an overview of the training agenda and led review and discussion of the following topics:
 - Sobering Center governance survey results
 - Governance training:
 - o Central Texas nonprofit sector and lifecycle
 - o Roles and responsibilities of board members
 - o Recruitment and evaluation
 - Board committees
 - o Board/Executive Director partnership
 - Fundraising
 - o Financial management
 - Strategy & strategic planning
- 3. Next steps & priorities. The next steps and priorities will be discussed at the August 8, 2018 regular meeting of the board.
- 4. Adjournment. The meeting was adjourned at 5:15 p.m.