Joint Sustainability Committee January 23, 2019 6:00pm City Hall, Council Chambers 301 West 2<sup>nd</sup> Street, Austin, Texas



# AGENDA

# **MEMBERS**

Jim Walker, Chair (City Council) Kaiba White, Vice-Chair (Resource Mgmt. Commission) Melissa Rothrock - (Zero Waste Advisory Commission) Kelly Davis (Urban Transportation Commission) Fisayo Fadelu (Community Development Commission) Adrienne Haschke (Austin Travis County Food Policy Board)

Nhat Ho (Water & Wastewater Commission)
Holt Lackey (Economic Prosperity Commission)
Francoise Luca (Parks & Recreation Board)
Joep Meijer (City Council)
Katie Coyne (Environmental Commission)
Michael Osborne (Electric Utility Commission)
Patricia Seeger (Planning Commission)

For more information, please visit: www.austintexas.gov/jsc

# CALL TO ORDER

#### **1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

a. November 28, 2018 meeting of the Joint Sustainability Committee

#### 2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a threeminute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

#### **3. NEW BUSINESS**

- a. Update on the Bloomberg Philanthropies American Cities Climate Challenge (Discussion and/or possible action)
- b. Update on the Austin Community Climate Plan from the Climate Program Manager (Discussion and/or possible action)

# 4. OLD BUSINESS

- a. Working group updates and potential creation of new working groups: three standing working groups on the Phase 1 Actions of the Austin Community Climate Plan (Electricity and Natural Gas, Transportation and Land Use, Materials and Waste Management), budget working group, and carbon impact statement. (Discussion and/or possible action)
- b. Commission members report back on any relevant discussions from their respective boards and commissions (Discussion and/or possible action)

# **5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

- Austin Strategic Mobility Plan
- Atlas 14 Watershed Protection

# ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Lewis Leff with the Office of Sustainability at 512-974-2651, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Joint Sustainability Committee, please contact Zach Baumer at (zach.baumer@austintexas.gov or 512-974-2836).