

Tourism Commission February 11, 2019 6:30pm Palmer Events Center 900 Barton Springs Rd. Austin, TX 78704

MINUTES

In Attendance:

Vanessa Fuentes Edward Bailey Rachel Magee Scott Joslove John Riedie Kate Singleton Mike Cannatti Catlin Whitington

Absence:

Mary Katherine Stout

Staff and Other In Attendance:

Felicia Ojeda, Austin Convention Center Department
Brandi Clark Burton, Citizen Communication- Sustainable Tourism
Cara Bertron, Deputy Preservation Officer, Planning & Zoning Department
Alyson McGee, Visitor Impact Task Force member
Carla Steffen, Deputy Director, Austin Convention Center Department

AGENDA

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

- a. Meeting called to order at 6:38pm by Chair, Catlin Whitington
- b. Roll Call of the Commissioners present (all present, minus Mary Katherine Stout)

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: 6:39pm

a. Brandi Clark Burton- Sustainable Tourism

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES: 6:45pm

- a. December 10, 2018 Approved as amended by all present commissioners
- b. January 14, 2018 Postponed and moved as Old Business for March Meeting for amendments needed.

4. NEW BUSINESS: 6:51pm

The Commission discussed the following agenda item:

- Briefing from the Heritage Tourism Working Group recommendations Cara Bertron, Deputy Preservation Officer, City of Austin and Alyson McGee, Visitor Impact Taskforce
 - a. Chair Whitington requested the status of Heritage Tourism Plan. Directed to Economic Development Department office
- b. Briefing on the Allocation of Hotel Occupancy Tax funds and financial operations results for the City of Austin compared to other cities. Carla Steffen, City of Austin, Austin Convention Center Department
 - a. Commissioner Bunch requested 5-year span of the Hotel Occupancy Tax funds and financial operations report of the Austin Convention Center compared to other cities.

5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS:

- a. The Commission may discuss and identify future agenda items, topics, or presentations
 - Received recommendations from the University of Texas study on the Austin Convention Center

6. ADJOURNMENT

- a. Chair, Catlin Whitington adjourned the meeting at 7:54 pm
 - i. Motioned to adjourn the meeting by Commissioners Magee and Riedie.