The Resource Management Commission convened a special-called meeting on Tuesday, May 21, 2019 at Town Lake Center, 721 Barton Springs Road, in Austin, Texas.

Commissioners in Attendance: Leo Dielmann, Chair (District 7); Cyrus Reed, Vice Chair (District 9); James Babyak (District 6), Jonathan Blackburn (District 8), Lisa Chavarria (Mayor), Tom "Smitty" Smith (District 5) and Kaiba White (District 2). Rebecca Brenneman (District 10), Nakyshia Fralin (District 1) and Scott Kohan (District 3) were absent. The commission has one vacancy (District 4).

Staff in Attendance: Mark Jordan, Christina Romero and Lauren King of Austin Water; Hayley Cunningham and Larry Graham of Texas Gas Service; and Mike Enger and Toye Goodson of Austin Energy.

CALL TO ORDER – Chair Dielmann called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

There were no speakers.

Consent Items

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approve minutes of the April 16, 2019 meeting. The motion approving the minutes of the April 16, 2019 meeting was approved on Chair Dielmann's motion, Commissioner Smith's second, on a 7-0 vote, with Commissioners Brenneman, Fralin and Kohan absent, and one vacancy.

NEW BUSINESS

- 2. Discussion and recommendation of Austin Water Capital Improvement Projects located in the Drinking Water Protection Zone for approval to include in the 5-year Capital spending plan as required by Financial Policy #8. The motion to recommend the proposed Capital Improvement Projects in the DWPZ and include them in AW's 5-year Capital spending plan was approved on Chair Dielmann's motion, Vice Chair Reed's second, on a 7-0 vote, with Commissioners Brenneman, Fralin and Kohan absent, and one vacancy. Recommendation No. 20190521-2.
- 3. Authorize negotiation and execution of a 15-year power purchase agreement with Pandora Solar, LLC, a NextEra Energy subsidiary, for up to 250 megawatts of electricity from a utility-scale solar-generation facility, in an estimated amount of up to \$13,000,000 per year, for a total estimated amount of up to \$195,000,000. The motion to recommend authorization of the PPA with Pandora Solar, LLC was approved on Commissioner White's motion, Vice Chair Reed's second, on a 7-0 vote, with Commissioners Brenneman, Fralin and Kohan absent, and one vacancy.

Non-Consent Items

STAFF REPORTS AND BRIEFINGS

- **4.** Quarterly Update from Texas Gas Service was presented by Hayley Cunningham and Larry Graham of Texas Gas Service.
- 5. Quarterly Update from Austin Water was presented by Mark Jordan of Austin Water.

OTHER BUSINESS

6. Discuss the Annual Internal Review and Report.
Commissioners reviewed last year's report and agreed to update Section 3, goals and objectives for the upcoming year, at the June meeting.

Chair Dielmann suggested consideration of Item #8, included on the Agenda Addendum, before discussing future agenda items.

OTHER BUSINESS (AGENDA ADDENDUM)

8. Elect a Vice Chair to serve a term ending April 30, 2020.

Vice Chair Reed announced his resignation from the Resource Management Commission effective May 23, as a result of being nominated to serve on the Electric Utility Commission. Chair Dielmann thanked Mr. Reed for his service and said he would be missed. The staff liaison presented Mr. Reed with a gift bag of items he might need during meetings of the Electric Utility Commission, including a reusable water bottle, antacid, aspirin and chocolate.

The motion to elect Commissioner White as Vice Chair effective June 1, 2019, was approved on Commissioner Smith's motion, Vice Chair Reed's second, on a 7-0 vote, with Commissioners Brenneman, Fralin and Kohan absent, and one vacancy.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

an update on the EM&V project.

7. Discuss potential topics for future agendas.

The liaison listed the following topics for next month's meeting: staff updates on Austin Energy's Green Building and Solar Programs and a presentation on expanding access to solar for low-income persons from Dana Harmon of the Texas Energy Poverty Research Institute. Commissioner Babyak requested

ADJOURN – Chair Dielmann adjourned the meeting at 8:35 p.m.