

## **ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MOTION 20191204 007a**

Date: December 4, 2019

Subject: Tree protections on the Apple campus, SP-2018-0602C

Motion by: Curtis Smith

Seconded by: Katie Coyne

## **RATIONALE:**

**WHEREAS**, Apple Incorporated plans to build a new \$1 billion campus at the Robinson Ranch property located at 6900 West Parmer Lane in North Austin; and

WHEREAS, site plans call for the removal of over 2,000 trees with an 8+ inch diameter; and

WHEREAS, 84 of these trees have heritage status under the City's Heritage Tree Ordinance; and

**WHEREAS**, the Apple campus is on a previously approved 2004 Planned Unit Development, and thus is not subject to the City's current tree protections, removing an important protection for mature heritage trees in the City of Austin.

THEREFORE, the Environmental Commission recommends that Apple Incorporated:

- save as many trees as possible
- replace all removed trees with diverse native trees
- retain as much of the forested area as possible
- consider transplanting any trees that can be done so viably
- create a conservation easement or similar instrument to permanently dedicate natural land
- develop an urban forest and tree monitoring program
- retain a private arborist to be onsite weekly during construction to assess tree protection, and continue to work with the Community Tree Preservation Division and the City Arborist with the City of Austin
- consider redesigns that will preserve the 251 Post Oaks because they are long-lived native trees that contribute diversity to the site; they are drought tolerant and not susceptible to oak wilt, and because they cannot be transplanted or replanted, making them irreplaceable
- establish open space for habitat and wildlife conservation with public access
- consider contributing to the Austin Wildlife Rescue

## **VOTE 11-0**

For: Bedford, Smith, Creel, Thompson, Ramberg, Guerrero, Coyne, Nill, Neely, Maceo, and Gordon Against: None Abstain: None Recuse: None Absent: None

Approved By:

hindett guerrero

Linda Guerrero, Environmental Commission Chair