

Tourism Commission May 13, 2019 6:30pm Carver Branch Library 1161 Angelina St Austin, TX 78702

MINUTES

In Attendance:

Alta Alexander Vanessa Fuentes **Edward Bailey** Rachel Magee Bill Bunch Scott Joslove John Riedie Lois Rodriguez **Brian Rodgers** Mike Cannatti Catlin Whitington

Staff and Other In Attendance:

Felicia Ojeda, Austin Convention Center Department, Staff liaison Kate Howard, Musician, Hotel Occupancy Tax topic Susanna Lee, Musician, Hotel Occupancy Tax topic Pat Buchta, Musician, Hotel Occupancy Tax topic Loraine Brown, Austin Convention Center expansion Tom Van Schaik, Musician, Hotel Occupancy Tax topic Joe Bolash, Chair, AHLA, Austin Convention Center expansion Cody Cowan, Red River Cultural District, Music Funding Rebecca Reynolds, Music Venue Alliance

AGENDA

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

a. Meeting called to order at 6:30 pm by Chair, Catlin Whitington

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES 6:31pm

a. April 8, 2019 - Commissioner Joslove motioned to approve minutes. Second by Commissioner Fuentes. Approved by all commissioners.

3. CITIZEN COMMUNICATIONS: GENERAL 6:32pm

4. OLD BUSINESS 6:57pm

The Commission discussed the following agenda item:

- a. Election of Officers
 - a. Nomination for Chair, Commissioner Joslove nominated Commissioner Catlin Whitington as Chair, Second by Commissioner Fuentes.
 - i. Commissioners approved Commissioner Whitington for Chair (Alexander, Fuentes, Bailey, Magee, Joslove, Rodriguez, Rodgers, Cannatti, Whitington)
 - ii. Commissioners opposed Commissioner Whitington (Riedie)
 - iii. Commissioner abstained Commissioner Whitington (Bunch)
 - b. Nomination for Vice-Chair, Commissioner Whitington nominated Commissioner Rachel Magee, Second by Commissioner Joslove.
 - i. Commissioners approved Commissioner Magee for Vice-Chair (Alexander, Fuentes, Bailey, Magee, Joslove, Rodriguez, Rodgers, Cannatti, Whitington)
 - ii. Commissioners opposed Commissioner Magee (Bunch and Riedie)
 - c. Nomination for Vice-Chair, Commissioner Bunch nominated Commissioner Riedie. Commissioner Riedie declined nomination.

5. NEW BUSINESS: 7:02pm

The Commission discussed the following agenda item:

a. UT Study – presented and discussed the University of Texas study on Alternative futures for the Austin Convention Center District (Dean Almy, Greg Hallman, Allan Shearer, Sarah Wu).

6. OLD BUSINESS – Continued 8:25pm

The Commission discussed the following agenda item:

- a. Visitor Impact Task Force Recommendations and Review by James Russell
- b. Chair Whitington motioned to recommend to City Council the Visitor Impact Task Force recommendation; a recommendation to adopt and implement the recommendations by the Visitor Impact Task Force as a guiding framework for the future expansion of the Austin Convention Center and allocations of Hotel Occupancy Taxes. Second by Commissioner Rodriguez
 - a. Votes approved for recommendations: Commissioners Whitington, Rodriguez, alexander, Cannatti, Fuentes, Riedie, Bailey, Joslove, and Magee.
 - b. Vote abstained by Commissioner Rodgers
 - c. Commissioner Bunch was absent during voting count.

7. ADJOURNMENT

a. Chair, Catlin Whitington adjourned the meeting at 8:34 pm.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call or email Felicia Ojeda at the Austin Convention Center Department, at 512.404.4022, felicia.ojeda@austintexas.gov. for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Tourism Commission, please contact Felicia Ojeda at 512.404.4022, felicia.ojeda@austintexas.gov.