

## Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission June 3, 2020 at 3:00 P.M.

# Environmental Commission to be held June 3, 2020 with Social Distancing Modifications

Public comment will be allowed via telephone; no in-person input will be allowed. All speakers must register in advance (day before the scheduled meeting, June 2, 2020 by noon). All public comment will occur at the beginning of the meeting.

To speak remotely at the June 3, 2020 Environmental Commission Meeting, residents must:

•Call or email the commission liaison at: Kaela Champlin (512) 974-3443 or Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov, no later than noon, (the day before the meeting). The information required is the speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, and a telephone number or email address.

•Once a request to speak has been called in or emailed to the board liaison, residents will receive either an email or phone call providing the telephone number to call on the day of the scheduled meeting.

•Speakers must call in at least 15 minutes prior to meeting start in order to speak, late callers will not be accepted and will not be able to speak.

•Speakers will be placed in a queue until their time to speak.

•Handouts or other information may be emailed to <u>Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov</u> by noon the day before the scheduled meeting. This information will be provided to Board and Commission members in advance of the meeting.

•Residents may watch the meeting here: <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live</u>



# Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission June 3, 2020 3:00 P.M. To 4:30 P.M. VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING

http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live

#### **COMMISSIONERS:**

Andrew Creel (D-1)	Curtis Smith (D-2)	Pam Thompson (D-3)	Ryan Nill (D-4)
Mary Ann Neely (D-5)	Katie Coyne (D-6) Vice Chair	Peggy Maceo (D-7)	Kevin Ramberg (D-8) Secretary
Linda Guerrero (D-9) Chair	Wendy Gordon (D-10)	Perry Bedford (Mayor)	

# Agenda

#### CALL TO ORDER

- 1. EDUCATION
  - a. None

#### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

 a. Approval of the March 4, 2020, April 15, 2020, and May 20, 2020 Environmental Commission Meeting Minutes (5 minutes)

### 3. ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER'S UPDATE ON PAST COMMISSION ACTIONS AND REPORT ON ITEMS OF INTEREST

- a. None
- 4. STAFF BRIEFINGS\*
  - a. None
- 5. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION
  - a. None

#### 6. PUBLIC HEARINGS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- a. Name: Springdale Farms, SP-2019-0253C Applicant: Casey Giles, P.E., Storybuilt Location: 755 Springdale Road, Austin, Texas 78702 (District 3) Staff: Kristy Nguyen, Environmental Review Specialist Senior, Development Services Department Watershed: Boggy Creek Watershed, Urban Classification, Desired Development Zone Request: Variance request is as follows: Request to vary from LDC 25-8-261 to allow development in a critical water quality zone Staff Recommendation: Staff do not recommend this variance, having determined that the findings of fact have not been met. (15 minutes)
- b. Name: C14-85-288.56(RCA) HWY 71 and Mountain Shadows Applicant: THT Holdings LLC (Senthil Rangaswamy and Prithiviraj Loganathan). Agent: Metcalfe Wolff Stuart & Williams LLP (Michele Rogerson Lynch) Location: 8732, 8624 and 8722 W. State Highway 71 (District 8) Staff: Kate Clark, Senior Planner, Planning and Zoning Department and Atha Phillips, Environmental Officer's Office Watershed: Williamson Creek Watershed, Barton Springs Zone Request: Conduct a public hearing and approve a restrictive covenant amendment on property locally known as 8732, 8624 and 8722 W. State Highway 71 Staff Recommendation: To grant an amendment to the restrictive covenant (30 minutes)
- c. Name: Ledgestone Wastewater Service Extension Request #4622
  Applicant: Daniel Ryan, P.E. LJA Engineering, Inc.
  Location: 9021 W US 290 Hwy, Austin, TX 78737
  Staff: Kaela Champlin, Environmental Officer's Office
  Watershed: Slaughter Creek Watershed, Water Barton Springs Zone, Edwards Aquifer Contributing Zone, Drinking Water Protection Zone
  Request: Wastewater Service Extension
  Staff Recommendation: Recommended
  (15 minutes)

#### 7. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a. Urban Growth Policy and Water Quality Protection Committee Pam Thompson, Kevin Ramberg, Mary Ann Neely, Curtis Smith, and Perry Bedford
- b. Urban Forestry Committee Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Linda Guerrero, and Mary Ann Neely
- c. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee Katie Coyne
- d. Report on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee – Mary Ann Neely

- e. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board – Mary Ann Neely, Peggy Maceo, Linda Guerrero, and Pam Thompson
- f. Report on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Linda Guerrero
- g. Other reports from Commissioners
- 8. NEW BUSINESS Future agenda items a. None
  - a. rone

#### ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas

at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

\* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).