# Design Commission August 24, 2020

Design Commission to be held August 24th with Social Distancing Modifications

Public comment will be allowed via telephone; no in-person input will be allowed. **All speakers must register in advance (8/23/2020 by Noon).** All public comment will occur at the beginning of the meeting.

To speak remotely at the **August Design Commission** Meeting, residents must:

- •Call or email the board liaison at **(512) 974-1243 or <u>aaron.jenkins@austintexas.gov</u>** no later than noon, (the day before the meeting). The information required is the speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, and a telephone number or email address.
- •Once a request to speak has been called in or emailed to the board liaison, residents will receive either an email or phone call providing the telephone number to call on the day of the scheduled meeting.
- •Speakers must call in at least 15 minutes prior to meeting start in order to speak, late callers will not be accepted and will not be able to speak.
- •Speakers will be placed in a queue until their time to speak.
- •Handouts or other information may be emailed to <a href="mailto:aaron.jenkins@austintexas.gov">aaron.jenkins@austintexas.gov</a> by Noon the day before the scheduled meeting. This information will be provided to Board and Commission members in advance of the meeting.
- •If this meeting is broadcast live, residents may watch the meeting here: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live">http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live</a>



# SPECIAL CALLED DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, AUGUST 24, 2020 3:00 PM VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING

### **CURRENT MEMBERS:**

David Carroll, Chair (District 1)	Beau Frail (District 6)
Martha Gonzalez (District 2)	Jessica Rollason (District 7)
Samuel Franco (District 3)	Aan Coleman (District8)
Josue Meiners (District 4)	Bart Whatley (District9)
Melissa Henao-Robledo, Vice-Chair (District 5)	Ben Luckens (District10)
Evan Taniguchi (Mayor)	

# **AGENDA**

### CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

# 1. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion & Possible Action):

Discussion and possible action to evaluate and make recommendations regarding whether Block 16, addressed at 320 E. 2<sup>nd</sup> Street, complies with the Urban Design Guidelines, for the City of Austin; Todd Runkle Gensler, Richard Suttle Armbrust & Brown, PLLC., Cameron Campbell Campbell Landscape Architecture

# 2. COMMISSION-SPECIFIC BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):

- a. Approval of the July 17<sup>th</sup> meeting minutes;
- b. Discussion and Possible action to appoint a Working Group to specifically address updates to the Urban Design Guidelines
- c. Liaison Reports: report from collaborative commissions from their most recent meeting

#### 3. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- a. Chair Announcements;
- b. Items from Commission Members;
- c. Items from City Staff;

# 4. ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Aaron Jenkins in the Planning and Zoning Department <a href="mailto:Aaron.Jenkins@austintexas.gov">Aaron.Jenkins@austintexas.gov</a> or (512) 974-2752, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711

#### Design Commission: Committees, Working Groups, Representatives and Liaisons

#### Committees

1. Executive Committee: D. Carroll (Chair), M. Henao-Robledo (Vice Chair)

#### **Working Groups**

- 1. Planning & Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley, A. Coleman, D. Carroll
- 2. Architecture & Development Working Group: B. Whatley, M. Gonzalez, D. Carroll, B. Frail
- 3. Landscape & Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A. Coleman,
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo
- 5. Infrastructure Design Guidelines Working Group: D. Carroll, M. Gonzalez, E. Taniguchi, B. Luckens

#### Representatives & Liaisons

- 1. South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Representative: S. Franco
- 2. Downtown Commission Liaison: M. Henao-Robledo (Vice Chair)
- 3. Joint Sustainability Committee Liaison: D. Carroll (Chair)

# **Staff to Design Commission**

City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd., Austin, TX 78704 Planning and Zoning Department, Urban Design Division, 5<sup>th</sup> floor

Executive Liaison: Jorge.Rousselin@austintexas.gov (512) 974-2975

Staff Liaison: <u>Aaron.Jenkins@austintexas.gov</u> (512) 974- 1243 Staff Liaison: <u>Patrick.Colunga@austintexas.gov</u> (512) 974-2752

Downtown Density Bonus Program: Jorge.Rousselin@austintexas.gov (512) 974-2975

Public Works Department, Office of the City Architect, 9<sup>th</sup> floor

City Architect: <a href="mailto:Janice.White@austintexas.gov">Janice.White@austintexas.gov</a>(512)974-7997

#### Resources

1. Urban Design Guidelines for Austin:

http://www.austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Boards\_and\_Commissions/Design\_Commission urban\_design\_guidelines\_for\_austin.pdf

2. Design Commission backup:

http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards commissions/meetings/22 1.htm

3. Downtown Density Bonus program:

https://www.municode.com/library/tx/austin/codes/land\_development\_code?nodeId=TIT25\_LADE\_CH25-\_2ZO\_SUBCHAPTER\_CUSDERE\_ART3ADRECEDI\_SPAGERE\_S25-2-586DOD\_