

David Carroll, Chair

Melissa Henao-Robledo, Vice Chair

Aan Coleman

Beau Frail

Samuel Franco

Martha Gonzales

Ben Luckens

Josue Meiners

Jessica Rollason

Evan Taniguchi

Bart Whatley

Jorge Rousselin, Executive Liaison

Aaron D. Jenkins Staff Liaison

Patrick Colunga Staff Liaison



City of Austin

Design Commission

DESIGN COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION 20200824-01A

Date: September 1, 2020

Subject: Design Commission recommendation for the Block 16 project, located at 320 East 2nd Street.

Motioned By: Aan Coleman Seconded By: Bart Whatley

Recommendation:

The City of Austin Design Commission recommends that the Block 16 project, located at 320 East 2nd Street, as presented on August 24, 2020, substantially complies with the city's Urban Design Guidelines. The Commission's recommendation comes with the qualification that the applicant further study the opportunity to open up the circulation path along 2nd Street as the bifurcation of the public realm caused by the linear placement of permanent benches is concerning to the Commission.

Rationale:

Dear Director of Planning and Zoning Dept.,

This letter is to confirm the Design Commission's recommendation that the Block 16 project, located at 320 East 2nd Street, as presented on August 24, 2020 substantially complies with the Urban Design Guidelines as one of the gatekeeper requirements of the Downtown Density Bonus Program. The Commission's recommendation comes with the qualification that the applicant further study the opportunity to open up the circulation path along 2nd Street as the bifurcation of the public realm caused by the linear placement of permanent benches is concerning to the Commission.

Our review found the following positive features:

- 1. Increase of street level retail space; allocated to both intersections.
- 2. Interactive public art and water feature that faces convention center
- 3. Addition of public art gallery in the lobby space
- 4. Inclusion of colonnade/lounge space for outdoor seating and food vendors

Respectfully

City of Austin Design Commission

Vote: 6 - 1 - 2

For: David Carroll, Aan Coleman, Evan Taniguchi, Samuel Franco, Bart Whatley, Ben Luckens

Against: Josue Meiners

Abstain: Martha Gonzalez, Jessica Rollason Absent: Melissa Henao-Robledo, Beau Frail

Attest: David Carroll, Chair of the Design Commission

Clavel Carroll

