

PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING July 9, 2020

The PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE convened in a regular meeting on July 9, 2020 at 301 W. 2nd Street in Austin, Texas.

Chair Flannigan called the committee meeting to order at 2:05 p.m.

Committee Members in Attendance:

Chair Flannigan, Vice Chair Casar, Mayor Pro Tem Garza, Committee Member Harper-Madison

DISCUSSION

1. Discussion on alternative methods of community safety and emergency response.

Amber Goodwin (Community Justice Action Fund), Tim Black (CAHOOTS), BJ Wagner (Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute), Matt Mollica (ECHO), Cate Graziani (Texas Harm Reduction Alliance), Joy Rucker (Texas Harm Reduction Alliance), Kelly White (SAFE Alliance), Melinda Cantu (SAFE Alliance), Courtney Santana (Survive2Thrive), Assistant Chief Andy Hofmeister (Austin-Travis County EMS), Police Officer Michelle Borton (APD), Detective Chris Perkins (APD), and Police Officer Thomas Villarreal (APD) spoke on the subject.

ADJOURN

Chair Flannigan adjourned the meeting at 4:17 p.m. without objection.