

David Carroll, Chair

Melissa Henao-Robledo, Vice Chair

Aan Coleman

Beau Frail

Samuel Franco

Martha Gonzales

Ben Luckens

Josue Meiners

Jessica Rollason

Evan Taniguchi

Bart Whatley

Jorge Rousselin, Executive Liaison

Aaron D. Jenkins Staff Liaison

Art Zamorano Staff Liaison



City of Austin

Design Commission

DESIGN COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION 20201123-01A

Date: November 30, 2020

Subject: Design Commission recommendation for The East Tower project, located at 84 North Interstate 35

Highway.

Motioned By: Aan Coleman Seconded By: Josue Meiners

Recommendation:

The City of Austin Design Commission recommends that the East Tower project, located at 84 North Interstate 35 Highway, as presented on November 23, 2020, substantially complies with the City of Austin Urban Design Guidelines.

Rationale:

Dear Honorable Mayor, City Council, Planning Commission, and Director of Housing and Planning Department,

This letter is to confirm the Design Commission's recommendation that the East Tower project, located at 84 North Interstate 35 Highway, as presented to us on November 23, 2020 substantially complies with the Urban Design Guidelines as one of the gatekeeper requirements of the Downtown Density Bonus Program. Our review found the following:

- This project could not provide compliance with the Great Streets Program or the Urban Design Guidelines
 related to street trees and furniture due to TxDOT restrictions in the ROW. We understand that City Council
 is evaluating an ordinance to allow a Great Streets fee-in-lieu for projects hindered with these
 circumstances.
 - a. The project has proposed small trees, landscaping, and street furniture along the eastern edge of the property since TxDOT will not allow these in the ROW.
- The project proposes an art gallery, and street level wall mural, in the back alley that will be open to the community via a public access easement connecting to Rainey Street.
- 3. The project proposes 9,586 square feet of onsite affordable housing and \$833,017 fees-in-lieu to NHCD.

Respectfully,

City of Austin Design Commission

Vote: 6 - 0 - 0

For: Aan Coleman, Evan Taniguchi, Melissa Henao-Robledo, Beau Frail, David Carroll, Josue Meiners

Against: NA Abstain: NA

Absent: Bart Whatley, Martha Gonzalez, Ben Luckens, Jessica Rollason, Samuel Franco

Attest: David Carroll, Chair of the Design Commission

Clavel Carroll