ARTS COMMISSION THURSDAY, JANUARY 21, 2021 – 5:30pm-8:30pm VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING



CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS:

Jaime Castillo – Chair, Michelle Polgar – Vice Chair, Brett Barnes, Lulu Flores, Bears Rebecca Fonte, Felipe Garza, kYmberly Keeton, Amy Mok, Celina Zisman, Rick Van Dyke

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER: 5:35pm

Commissioner Barnes and Zisman absent

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 10 speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

Brian Cheslik – speaking about concerns with the new funding process in regards to the deaf theatre company – request to pause the process

David Goujon – Chair of MACC with update on phase II expansion, seeking support and participation for the expansion

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a. Approve the minutes for the regular Arts Commission meetings on December 14, 2020 Motion to postpone approval

motioned: Polgar Seconded: Flores

Passed on consent

2. CHAIR'S REPORT

- a. New Year
- b. AIPP liaison report
- c. Boards & Commissions liaisons

3. STAFF BRIEFINGS

- a. Hotel Occupancy Tax update Sylnovia Holt-Rabb, Acting Economic Development Department Director
- b. Cultural Funding update Meghan Wells, Cultural Arts Division Manager
 - i. Current Year
 - ii. Cultural Funding Review Process update

4. NEW BUSINESS

- a. Discussion and Action Items
 - i. Cultural Funding Review Process update No action taken

Commissioner Barnes arrived on the dais Commissioner kYmberly Keeton left the dais

Lisa Scheps – Artistic Director Ground Floor Theatre

Ann Ciccolella – Artistic Director Austin Shakespeare

Nicole Oglesby

Dewy Brooks

Christina Moore – Executive Artistic Director ScriptWorks

Monica Caivano – Executive Director Esquina Tango

Bonnie Cullum – Artistic Director Vortex Theatre

Acia Gray – Executive Artistic Tapestry Dance Company

Sally Jaques – Artistic Director Blue Lapis Light

Cynthia Perez – Artistic Director La Pena

Ana Maria Tekina-eiru Maynard – Executive Director Puerto Rican Folkloric Dance

Roxanne Schroeder-Arce – Teatro Vivo

Melissa Voght – Managing Director Vortex Theatre

Shea Little – Executive Director Big Medium

Jill Christine Ramirez – Serie Project

5. OLD BUSINESS

- a. Discussion and action
 - i. Austin Economic Development Corporation Nomination process Motion to accept the recommendation of the Arts Commission Austin Economic Development Corporation Nomination Working Group Motioned Flores

Seconded Polgar

Vote: 7 - 0 - 1

For: Fonte, Barnes, Flores, Van Dyke, Polgar, Garza

Chair Castillo recused

Commissioners Zisman and Keeton absent

- ii. Arts Commission retreat Tentative - February 7, 12:30-4pm
- b. Working Group updates

i. Equity Resource Working Group with Commissioners Polgar, Castillo, and Keeton

No action taken

 "Imagine-Austin Town Center" Joint Working Group with Economic Prosperity, Veteran's, and Music Commissions with Arts Commissioners Van Dyke and Garza

Sunset working group

iii. Austin Economic Development Corporation Board Nomination Working Group – Commissioners Flores, Keeton, and Polgar

Sunset working group

6. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

ADJOURNMENT – 8:41pm

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Jesús Pantel at Economic Development Department, at 512-974-9315, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Arts Commission, please contact Jesús Pantel at 512-974-9315.