

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, March 3, 2021

The Environmental Commission convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, March 3, 2021 with Social Distancing Modifications via remote video conferencing.

Commissioners in Attendance:

Andrew Creel

Pam Thompson

Kevin Ramberg

Linda Guerrero

Perry Bedford

Wendy Gordon

Audrey Barrett Bixler

Commissioners Absent:

Katie Coyne

Peggy Maceo

Staff in Attendance:

Kate Clark

Kaela Champlin

Chris Herrington

Kevin Johnson

Liz Johnston

Keith Mars

Andrei Lubomudrov

Atha Phillips

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Guerrero called the meeting to order at 6:07 P.M.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approval of the February 3, 2021 Environmental Commission Meeting Minutes A motion to approve the Environmental Commission Meeting Minutes of February 3, 2021 was approved on Commissioner Gordon's motion, Commissioner Ramberg's second on a 7-0 vote. Commissioners Coyne and Maceo were absent.

2. ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER UPDATES

 a. Announcement of new Deputy Environmental Officer—Chris Herrington, Environmental Officer, Watershed Protection Department
Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

3. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Recognize Peggy Maceo for over five years of service on the Environmental Commission

Speakers

Bobby Levinski

Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

b. Presentation of Development Assessment Report for the Brodie Oaks Planned Unit Development, located at 4021 S Capital of Texas Highway, CD-2020-0002 (District 5). Applicant: Rebecca Leonard, Lionheart Places. Staff: Kate Clark, Housing and Planning Department and Atha Phillips, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection Department

Speakers

Bobby Levinski

Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

c. Discussion and possible action regarding a recommendation to City Council on the preferred design scenario for the Dougherty Arts Center Replacement Project—Kevin Johnson, Acting Project Management Supervisor, Parks and Recreation Department Speakers

Bobby Levinski

A motion to recommend against Option 1B and support Option 1A with conditions was approved on Commissioner Ramberg's vote, Commissioner Creel's second on a 7-0 vote. Commissioners Coyne and Maceo were absent.

d. Consider a petition from the SH 130 Municipal Management District, created by the legislature in 2019, for the City of Austin's consent to issue bonds and assess various taxes on any area that is within the District or that the District may annex in the future—Andrei Lubomudrov, Senior Planner, Housing and Planning Department A motion to recommend consent to the SH 130 petition provided that this consent includes a requirement that all District development meet current code at the time of site development permit application and that the consent agreement contain a condition that future annexations must return to the City for consent was approved on Commissioner Ramberg's motion, Commissioner Thompson's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioners Creel, Coyne, and Maceo were absent.

4. **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

- a. Urban Growth Policy and Water Quality Protection Committee Pam Thompson, Kevin Ramberg, and Perry Bedford
- b. Urban Forestry Committee Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, and Linda Guerrero
- c. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee Katie Coyne
- d. Report on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory CommitteeKevin Ramberg

- e. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board Peggy Maceo, Linda Guerrero, and Pam Thompson
- f. Report on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Linda Guerrero Chair Guerrero gave an update on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS None

ADJOURNMENT Chair Guerrero adjourned the meeting at 8:37 P.M.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please call **Kaela Champlin** at Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

^{*} A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).