

AUSTIN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION MEETING MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING MONDAY, MAY 10, 2021

The Austin Economic Development Corporation (AECD) convened in a regular meeting Monday, May 10, 2021 via virtual videoconferencing.

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Truelove called the meeting to order at 5:07 p.m.

Board Members in Attendance:

Rosie Truelove, Chair Bradford Patterson, Board Member Sylnovia Holt-Rabb, Secretary Stephen Levy, Board Member Ed Van Eenoo, Board Member David Steinwedell, Board Member Emmett S. Beliveau, Board Member Sharmila Mukherjee, Board Member Jeremy Martin, Board Member Carl Settles, Board Member Tamara Atkinson, Board Member Awais Azhar, Board Member Suchitra Gururaj, Board Member Cathy McHorse, Board Member Diana Maldonado, Board Member Molly Beth Malcolm, Board Member Matias Segura, Board Member

CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

No citizens were signed up to speak.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes of the regular meeting of March 8, 2021 were approved on Board Member Patterson's motion, seconded by Board Member Beliveau, on a **17-0 vote**.

2. NEW BUSINESS

For discussion and possible action regarding the following:

- **a.** Report and discussion from the President and CEO including an update on governance and administrative development of the organization, an update on priority projects and a review of upcoming public events or meetings.
 - Veronica Briseño, AEDC Board President provided an update to the AEDC Board. No action was taken.
- **b.** Financial report reviewing the balance and project balance of the organization's budget from the President and CEO, Veronica Briseño, AEDC Board President No action was taken.

3. OLD BUSINESS

Update from Staff on equity training for all board and executive staff with discussion related to scheduling possible sessions through the end of the calendar year. Veronica Briseño, AEDC Board President provided an update to the AEDC Board. No action was taken.

4. BRIEFING(S)

Presentation from staff, consultants or outside agencies for discussion and possible action regarding the following:

- **a.** Presentation and discussion of Affordable Housing from David Steinwedell, CEO of Affordable Central Texas, and Mandy DeMayo, Community Development Administrator of City of Austin Housing and Planning Department. No action taken.
- **b.** Interlocal Agreement with City of Austin
 - Recommendation for approval from the Executive Committee.
 Approve resolution for adoption of the Interlocal Cooperation Agreement with the City of Austin relating to the provision of services by AEDC for the City as presented, contingent upon Austin City Council approval.
 The parameters of the Interlocal Cooperative Agreement as outlined by AEDC's attorney was approved on Board Member Settles' motion, seconded by Board Member Atkinson, on a 16-0 vote with Member Holt-Rabb abstaining from vote.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

• Provide an update for Board and Staff Equity Training.

ADJOURN

The meeting was adjourned at 6:44 p.m.

The Corporation reserves the right to go into executive session pursuant to Section 551.071 of the Texas Government Code to receive advice from Legal Counsel regarding any item on this agenda or for any other lawful purpose. To attend the meeting, the public may join via https://zoom.us/join, or call 346-248-7799, enter Webinar ID 932 6639 8195 and Passcode 894052. The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Mona Sanchez, with the Austin Economic Development Department, at 512-974-7864, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Austin Economic Development Corporation, please contact Mona Sanchez at mona.sanchez@austintexas.gov or by phone at 512-974-7864

The minutes were approved on this the 14th day of June 2021 on Board Member Maldonado's motion and Board Member Steinwedell's second on a vote of 15-0.