

# Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) October 6, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. Permitting and Development Center (PDC): Event Center

Permitting and Development Center (PDC); Event Center 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Dr.
Austin, TX 78752

## **CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:**

Prabhu Kannan Hoang Le
Brigham Morris Shaina Kambo
Errol Hardin Sara Inés Calderón
Eugene Schneider Selina Yee

Erin Dempsey Christina Puentes, Chair

Luis Gonzalez, Vice-Chair Joshua Blank
Dr. Sterling Lands Camellia Falcon

Dr. Sterling Lanas	Camellia Falcon
Members in Attendance	Staff In Attendance
Christina Puentes, Chair	Matthew Dugan, City's Planning Manager
Luis Gonzalez, Vice Chair	Patricia Fraga, City's IT
Joshua Blank	George Korbel, Mapping Specialist (virtually)
Sara Inés Calderón (virtually)	David Richards, Legal Counsel (virtually)
Erin Dempsey	Christine Granados, ICRC Administrative
Camelia Falcon	Manager
Errol Hardin	
Shaina Kambo	
Sterling Lands	
Hoang Le	
Eugene Schneider	
·	

## **Draft Minutes**

Meeting Goals: Discussion of Public Forum Feedback; Receive Updates from Working Groups/Subcommittees

## **CALL TO ORDER**

Selina Yee

Chair Puentes called the meeting to order at 6:06 p.m. with 11 members present. Commissioner Lands joined at 8:29 p.m.

## **CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL**

Peck Young, with the NAACP/Hispanic Coalition; Fred Lewis; Mary Jugle;, Justin Irving; Daniel Llanes, with the People Organized in Defense of Earth and Her Resources (PODER) and the Voter Education Registration and Mobilization Project (VERM) and Jim Christianson addressed the commission.

#### 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Discussion and possible action on the Sept. 29, 2021, ICRC meeting minutes.

The Sept. 29, 2021, meeting minutes were approved without objection.

#### 2. NEW BUSINESS

The ICRC may discuss and take action on the following agenda items
A. Discussion of Draft Final Map by Item

On Commissioner Kambo's motion, Commissioner Hardin's second, the ICRC unanimously approved that we split VDT 206 keeping only the LBJ Library in District 1, the street boundaries being Dean Keaton to the north, Robert Dedman to the west, Clyde Littlefield/Manor Road to the south and I-35 to the east.

On Commissioner Gonzalez's motion, Commissioner Blank's second, after debate the ICRC unanimously approved that VDT 214 is moved into District 10 bringing the Brkyer Woods neighborhood back into D10.

On Commissioner Gonzalez's motion, Commissioner Yee's second, after debate the ICRC unanimously approved that we split VDT 250 at Enfield Road continuing to Parkway to North Lamar Boulevard.

On Commissioner Gonzalez's motion, Commissioner Yee's second, after debate the ICRC unanimously approved that the split of VDT 250 will leave north of Enfield in District 10 and south of Enfield in District 9.

On Commissioner Gonzalez's motion, Commissioner Blank's second, after debate the ICRC unanimously approved that the district boundary of District 10 be amended so that new boundaries are North Lamar Boulevard between west 24th Street to the north and west 15th Street to the south.

On Commissioner Gonzalez's motion, Commissioner Yee's second, after debate the ICRC unanimously approved that VDT 318, VDT 338 and VDT 321 move from District 8 to District 10 and utilizing Highway 360 as an identifiable boundary.

On Commissioner Hardin's motion, Commissioner Kambo's second, after debate the ICRC unanimously approved that we modify the preliminary map boundaries of District 3 and District 9 to move the following geographical area from District 3 to District 9: East Riverside Drive to the north, Parker Lane to the east, Oltorf to the south and south I-35 to the west.

On Commissioner Falcon's motion, Commissioner Hardin's second, after debate the ICRC unanimously approved that we move all of VDT 364 that lies within the city of Austin from District 10 to District 8.

On Commissioner Land's motion, Commissioner Schneider's second, the ICRC unanimously approved adopting the final map of the new City of Austin city council districts as presented.

## B. Updates from working groups/subcommittees

## 1. Social Media/Press Release Working Group

Commissioner Dempsey gave an update about regular ICRC meetings being on Facebook Live.

## 2. Advertising/Website Working Group

Commissioner Yee gave an update about advertising efforts focusing on public forum dates and building awareness

## 3. Public Forum Working Group Update

Vice Chair Gonzalez gave an update and restated the final round of public forums dates: Saturday, Oct. 16, 11 a.m.-1 p.m. at South Austin Recreation Center; Monday, Oct. 18, 6-8 p.m. via Zoom and Wednesday, Oct. 20, 6-8 p.m. at the Dell Jewish Community Center.

#### 4. Finance Subcommittee

Chair Puentes read Commissioner Morris's email update that stated 52% of the total budget was used in fiscal year 2021 and \$2,000 has been spent for fiscal year 2022...

## 5. Final Report Subcommittee

Commissioner Blank gave an update and stated commissioners will be receiving emails in the coming weeks from the final report committee about bios, district overviews and commissioner statements.

## C. Housekeeping

Commissioner Kambo discussed "Robert's Rules of Order" book that she obtained for all commissioners.

#### **FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS**

- Certification of final map, after public forums
- Commissioner group photo on Oct. 27
- *Updates from working groups/subcommittees*
- Housekeeping items

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Puentes adjourned the meeting at 9:01 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Matt Dugan at the Housing and Planning Department, at 512-974-7665 and matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, please contact Matt Dugan at 512-974-7665 and <a href="matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov">matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov</a> or Lisa Rodriguez at 512-974-3119 and <a href="matthew.dugan@austintexas.gov">lisa.rodriguez@austintexas.gov</a>.